Mahé (SEZ)

x

Airport Depature flight Return flight
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr Sa
London Heathrow (LHR) British Airways We, Sa Th, Su
Paris Charles de Gaulle (CDG)* Air France Tu, Th, Sa We, Fr, Su
Zurich (ZRH) Edelweiss Sa Mo
*From 31.10.2019

Seychelles Travel Guide The Complete Guide to the Seychelles

Book accommodation

Mahé


Diving & snorkelling on Mahé

The North of Mahé

Diving

Besides hiking, the north of Mahé is also a great spot for diving tours. Beau Vallon offers different diving centre options, with a variety of different tours. The diving instructors here also know which spots to recommend. You should set aside between €60 and €100 for such a service. Besides large granite formations and colourful coral reefs, a variety of animal life waits to be discovered, including mantas, rays, turtles, octopus, sharks, whale sharks, dolphins, snappers, butterfly fish, sponges, invertebrates, and a wide range of other fish species.

Diving with Ocean Dream DiversDiving with Ocean Dream Divers

5 km north of Mahé lie the small rocky islands of Brissare Rocks, which you can visit from September to May. Due to strong currents, the area attracts different big fish, including smaller sharks and barracudas. The colourful coral arrays bring with them an impressive collection of fish down to a maximum depth of 20 metres. Besides Brissare Rock, the Dragon's Teeth offer you the chance to meet lobster, turtles, whitetip sharks, eagle rays, and batfish, all down to a depth of 23 metres.

Shark Bank is a huge rock that is located 8 km north-west of Mahé, extending down into the ocean depths. Huge schools of yellow-striped snappers, jacks, batfish, turtles, parrot fish, eagle rays, reef sharks, stingrays, dolphins, and sometimes whale sharks are all present here. The diversity on show here is something at which to marvel, between 18 metres and 30 metres deep.

Trompeuse Rocks lie 24 km off the coast of Mahé to the north-east and also accommodate a diverse array of underwater life. Those who go in the water here should watch out for strong currents. Also appealing is the uninhabited Mamelles island, located about halfway to Trompeuse, which offers a shallow reef for exploration.

The Aldebaran is a 28 metres fishing boat that sunk in 2008. These days, it attracts colourful marine life, including small fish, moray eels, lionfish, sweetlips, starfish, and batfish. Sometimes, you may even see sharks and giant groupers here. The wreck is located about 28 - 40 metres deep into the water, where the currents can be strong. Another wreck of the Ennerdale tanker washed ashore in 1970. 25 metres down, you can see separate parts of the wreck, and various large fish have decided to make this their home. A few hundred metres away from Mahé lie the small island l'Ilot, and to the north, east, and west of this you can find rocky formations that are home to large reef fish and formations of soft coral. From November to March, you may even get luck and encounter a whale shark.

Snorkelling

In addition to the diving sites, there are also some good snorkelling options here. The best reefs are usually only accessible by boat, but in certain places, snorkellers can reach spectacular underwater scenery without the help of any boats. In the north of Mahé, some of the best spots include the northern and southern end of Beau Vallon Bay and Anse Major. Boat trips to the Baie Ternay Marine Park or the Sainte Anne Marine National Park are also promising.

ImageSnorkelling at sunset at Beau Vallon
Image 
 

The South of Mahé

Diving

In the south of Mahé, the variety of fish and coral is almost overwhelming, and even if you can only visit the region with a diving centre, trips here are well-worth a look.

Many countries have diving spots with 'Shark' in their name, but often you never see the eponymous animals there. That said, at Shark Point in the Seychelles, you will certainly see sharks. In this case, white tips swim around, sometimes floating in the ocean freely. As with many diving sites on Mahé, the sea can be quite choppy here.

ImagePhotos by Dive Resort Seychelles
Image 
Image 

Turtle Rock is a collection of granite blocks to the south of the Sainte Anne National Marine Park, and this large diving area contains white tip sharks, nurse sharks, eagle rays, barracudas, jacks, tuna, stingrays, bat fish, scorpion fish, and stone fish. The maximum depth here is 18 metres. During the east monsoon season, diving here is not recommended.

Three nautical miles from the east coast is the Lost City, one of the best spots in the inner islands. Here, canyons are etched into granite benches in a totally intact underwater world. The highlight is also the swim through the southern end of the area. Sharks, barracudas, stingrays, schools of fish, wrasses, and much more can all be seen down to a maximum depth of 30 metres. All of the fish in this area are larger than average. During the south-east monsoon season, diving here is not recommended.

Snorkelling

In the south of Mahé, it pays to pack snorkelling gear for trips to the north end of Anse Royale, the south end of Anse Takamaka, Anse Forbans, Anse Soleil, and Port Launay.

ImageSnorkelling at Anse Takamaka
Image 
 

Diving Centres

Ocean Dream Divers | Website
Tel: +248 24 8385 | Mahé, Beau Vallon, right next to the Beach House and Beau Bamboo
Blue Sea Divers | Website
Tel: +248 25 260 | Mahé, Beau Vallon, Mare Anglaise
Big Blue Divers | Website
Tel: +248 426 1106 | Mahé, Beau Vallon, next to the Diver's Lodge on Beau Vallon
Dive Resort Seychelles | Website
Tel: +248 437 2057 | Mahé, Anse La Mouche, right next to the Blue Lagoon Chalets

Next chapter: Photos of Mahé
This website uses cookies to enhance your browser experience. Learn more.

x
+ -
Seychelles image

Direktflüge nach Mahé (SEZ)

x

Täglich fliegen mehrere Airlines mit Zwischenstopp auf die Seychellen.
Hier finden Sie alle Direktflug Möglichkeiten im Überblick.

Flughafen Airline Hinflug Rückflug
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr. Sa.
Wien (VIE) Austrian Airlines Mi.* Do.*
*ab Oktober 2017

Seychellen Reiseführer Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen

Seychellen Karte

Mahé


Tauchen & Schnorcheln

Im Norden Mahés

Adäquat zu den Wanderungen an Land lohnen sich natürlich auch Ausflüge zu den Tauchgründen im Norden Mahés. Die Tauchbasen in Beau Vallon bieten regelmäßig entsprechende Touren an. Man hat hier auch gleich Tauchlehrer dabei, die stets darüber Bescheid wissen, wann welche Spots zu empfehlen sind. Mit etwa 60 bis 100 € ist man dabei. Neben großen Granitformationen und bunten Korallenriffen mit Weich- und Hartkorallen wartet eine große Vielfalt an Lebewesen darauf, entdeckt zu werden, so zum Beispiel Mantas, Rochen, Schildkröten, Oktopusse, Haie, je nach Saison auch Walhaie, Delfine, Schnapperschwärme, Korallenfische und unzählige andere Riff-Fische, Schwämme und wirbellose Tiere.

5 km nördlich von Mahé liegen die kleinen Felsinseln Brissare Rocks, welche von September bis Mai betaucht werden können. An diesem Platz gibt es eine starke Stömung, welche viele Großfische anlockt, etwa kleinere Haie und Barrakudas. Die bunte Vielfalt an Korallen bringt eine entsprechend imposante Sammlung an dazugehörigen Fischen mit sich, die maximale Tiefe beträgt 20 m. Als Besonderheit sind hier Weiße Gorgonien sowie beeindruckende Granitblockformationen zu nennen. Neben Brissaire Rock liegen die Dragon’s Teeth mit mehreren, sehr schön bewachsenen Ausläufern. Man trifft hier Lobster, Schildkröten, Weißpitzen- und Ammenhaie an, außerdem Adlerrochen und Fledermausfische, das Ganze auf einer Tiefe von max. 23 m.

Bei dem Segeltrip mit der “Sea Bird”Bei dem Segeltrip mit der “Sea Bird”

Die Shark Bank ist ein 8 km nordwestlich von Mahé liegender massiger Felsen, der bis in die Tiefen des Meeres reicht. Gewaltige Schulen gelb gestreifter Schnapper, Jacks und Fledermausfische, Schildkröten, Papageienfische und Adlerrochen veredeln hier den Tauchgang. Es tummeln sich in Reichweite Riffhaie, Stachelrochen, Delfine, manchmal sogar Wahlhaie. Diese Vielfalt gibt es auf 18 bis 30 m zu bestaunen.

Die Trompeuse Rocks liegen 24 km vor Mahé, im Nordosten, und beherbergen ebenfalls ein vielfältiges Unterwasserleben. Hier ist unbedingt auf die häufig auftretende starke Strömung zu achten. Ansprechende Tauchgründe bietet auf ihrer Südseite auch die auf halber Strecke zu den Trompeuse Rocks befindliche unbewohnte Insel Mamelles. Hier ist ein flaches Riff und eine ntsprechend geringe Wassertiefe kennzeichnend.

Bei der Aldebaran handelt es sich um ein 28 m langes Fischerboot, welches 2008 versenkt wurde. Heute lockt es ein farbenfrohes Marineleben an. Kleine Riff-Fische, Muränen, Feuerfische, Süßlippen, Seesterne und Fledermausfische finden hier Wohnraum. Zu Saisonzeiten tauchen auch mal Stachel-, Gitarrenrochen und Riesenzackenbarsche auf. Das Wrack befindet sich auf 28 bis 40 m Tiefe. Oft gibt es auch hier eine stärkere Strömung. Ein weiteres Wrack, das des Ennerdale-Tankers, lief bereits 1970 auf Grund. In mehreren Einzelteilen - es wurde eigens zum Wracktauchen gesprengt - findet man es in ungefähr 25 m Tiefe. Diverse Großfische haben es zur Heimat erwählt. Das palmengesäumte Inselchen L’Ilot ragt nur wenige hundert Meter vor Mahé aus dem Wasser. In seinem Norden und ebenso am Ost- und Westende, finden sich spannende, bis auf 20 m Tiefe reichende Felsenregionen, die größere Riff-Fische sowie Formationen von Weichkorallen beheimaten. Von November bis März stehen die Chancen gut, hier auf einen Walhai zu treffen.

Schnorcheln

Neben den Tauchgründen finden sich auch attraktive Schnorchelreviere. Die hochspannenden Riffe sind zumeist nur mit einem Boot erreichbar, aber an vielen Stellen der Insel findet man als Schnorchler auch ohne Wasserfahrzeug direkten Zugang zu spektakulären Unterwasserwelten. Empfehlenswerte Schnorchelplätze auf Mahé Nord sind das Nord- und Südende der Beau Vallon-Bucht und Anse Major. Bootsausflüge in den Baie Ternay Marine oder den Sainte Anne Marine National Park sind ebenfalls vielversprechend.

on


 

Tauchen im Süden Mahés

Im Süden Mahés ist die Vielfalt an Fischen und Korallen schier überwältigend, und auch wenn nur eine Tauchbasis Touren anbietet, so lohnen die hier liegenden Tauchgründe absolut einen Besuch. Drei der bekanntesten sollen im Folgenden vorgestellt werden.

Fast überall gibt es Tauchplätze, die in ihrem Namen den “Shark” haben, aber fast nie sieht man dort tatsächlich Haie. An diesem Shark Point allerdings gibt es Haie - und zwar reichlich. Es handelt sich in diesem Fall um Weißspitzenriffhaie, die man unter Überhängen, auf Sandflächen oder auch mal freischwimmend aufspüren kann. Wie an vielen anderen Tauchplätzen auf Mahé ist der Wellengang mehr als reichlich.




Der Turtle Rock, eine Ansammlung von Granitblöcken südlich des St. Anne National Parks, bietet ein großes Gebiet, in dem Weißspitzen- und Ammenhaie, Adlerrochen, Barrakudas, Makrelen, Thunfische, Stachelrochen, Fledermausfische, Skorpion- und Steinfische den Tauchgang begleiten. Die maximale Tiefe beträgt hier 18 m. Mehrere "Swim Throughs" (kleinere Höhlen-Löcher zum Durchschwimmen) stellen die Highlights dieses Spots dar, der allerdings während des Südostmonsuns selten angefahren werden kann.

Drei Seemeilen von der Ostküste entfernt liegt Lost City, einer der absoluten Knüller der Inner Islands: Hier ziehen sich Canyons durch Granitbänke in einer gänzlich intakten Unterwasserwelt. Höhepunkt ist auch hier der Swim Through am südlichen Ende. Haie, Barrakudas, Rochen, Schwarmfische, Wrassen - dies und mehr ist möglich, auf einer maximalen Tiefe von 30 m. Alle Fische haben in diesem Gebiet eine beachtliche Größe. Während des Südostmonsuns ist dieses Ziel ebenfalls selten zu betauchen.

Schnorcheln

Im Süden Mahés lohnt es sich, die Schnorchelausrüstung für Ausflüge an das Nordende von Anse Royale, das Südende von Anse Takamaka, für Anse Forbans, Anse Soleil und Port Launay einzupacken.

 

Tauchbasen

Ocean Dream Divers | Website
Tel: +248 248 385 | Mahé, Beau Vallon, in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Beach House und Beau Bamboo
Blue Sea Divers | Website
Tel: +248 252 60 | Mahé, Beau Vallon, Mare Anglaise | Deutscher Tauchlehrer Michael
Big Blue Divers | Website
Tel: +248 426 1106 | Mahé, Beau Vallon, rechts neben der Divers Lodge am Beau Vallon, hier wird ebenfalls Deutsch gesprochen.
Dive Resort Seychelles | Website
Tel: +248 437 20 57 | Mahé, Anse La Mouce, gleich neben den Blue Lagoon Chalets | von Leo Hoevers, freundlicher Holländer