x
+ -
Seychelles image

Mahé (SEZ)

x

Airport Depature flight Return flight
*From October 2017

Seychelles Travel Guide The Complete Guide to the Seychelles

Map of the Seychelles

Mahé


Victoria

The Capital of the Seychelles

In the north-east of Mahé, bordered on one side by steep mountain slopes, is the capital of the Republic of the Seychelles. At first glance, it isn't really clear just how important the city is as the country's cultural and administrative centre; there are only two dozen streets, which not only characterises the cosy feel of the city but of the Seychellois way of life itself. With the spirit of 'Beauty Acts Silently' coursing through the veins of the city, visitors will struggle to find anything in terms of parking garages, neon signs, or showmanship in general; the city only has two traffic lights! That said, with around 25,000 inhabitants, Victoria is still the largest settlement in the Seychelles, and its only city. Its foundation harks back to the French settler period in 1778, before it was later given its name by the British, after Queen Victoria.

These days, this 'backwater' has grown up, with a small, lively market offering fish, fruit and vegetables, restaurants, offices, banks, and shops. At its eastern edge, Victoria opens up onto the harbour and the ocean, containing the Sainte Anne Marine National Park. The New Pier welcomes cruise ships, large freighters, and tankers, serving as the main trading port for the country. In terms of exports, the Seychelles sells spices, vanilla, coconuts, coconut oil, soap, tuna, and cinnamon bark. The city's surrounding urban area contains numerous amenities and attractions, including the International Airport, the Botanical Gardens, a university, museums, places of worship, offices belonging to tourism companies, airlines, and banks, and finally a cinema and shops.

In terms of its design, the town is mostly dominated by stone and wooden houses from the early 20th century, which paint a colourful picture thanks to their colourful facades, shutters, and balustrades. Walking through the streets past these buildings, you will surely pick up the scent of various exciting spice aromas, often emanating from small grocery stores where you can stock up on supplies. In the morning at around 8.00, as well as in the afternoon at 16.00, you will probably notice a more lively version of Victoria. At this time, many people go shopping or drink coffees. That said, this drama does not last very long, because, at 17.00 (or 18.00 at the latest) most establishments close their shutters and the Seychelles capital closes down for the evening. At this time, you can choose to round off your day with an exotic cocktail in a small bar or at the harbour, or look for evening entertainment at the nightclub or in the slot machine hall.

Victoria has two main centres, one of which revolves around the Clock Tower, a replica of the clock tower at Vauxhall Bridge in London and a symbol of the Seychelles that lies in the middle of the northern roundabout. In this area, you can find banks, the post office, the Palace of Justice, and the Pirates Arms snack restaurant on Independence Avenue.

The clock tower in the Seychelles capital, VictoriaThe Clock Tower in Victoria is one of the Seychelles' most recognisable landmarks

Almost opposite here is the National Museum, while a little further along the road lie some travel agencies and the tourist information centre, where you can find maps for hiking trails. The second centre surrounds the Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market, which is around five minutes' walk away from the clock tower. This market is well-worth a visit, especially early on a Saturday morning, when a veritable hive of activity is on offer, including fish, spices, and exotic fruits for sale. The Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke market in VictoriaThe Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke market in Victoria offers a wide variety of wares

From the market, head north on Revolution Avenue, where more snack restaurants, travel agencies, and a large supermarket await. This road leads out of town over the St. Louis pass, before snaking down into Beau Vallon. From the peak here, around 300 metres (985 ft) above sea level, visitors can admire Victoria by taking a walk under the summit of the Trois Frères mountains.

Through land-reclamation, new areas were created in the northern part of the harbour basin, on which a large sports complex, tennis courts, a swimming centre, and a multi-purpose hall were built. In the process, the adjacent district of Roche Caiman saw around 2,000 residential units spring up, something that the ever-expanding city desperately needed and that curbed construction in Mahé's mountainous regions. Eden Island, located to the south of Victoria, is a more up-market version of this new residential area, offering contemporary design, luxury villas, elegant bars and restaurants, a marina, and a shopping centre. View of the artificial Eden Island and the surrounding marine parkThe artificial Eden Island

Victoria is undoubtedly worth exploring a little more closely, and here are a few spots that offer exciting cultural and historical information to the Seychelles holidaymaker.

 

Arul Mihu Navasakthi Vinayagar Temple

One of the most-visited sites in the Seychelles and one of the most-admired, certainly by photographers, is the colourful, decorated temple roof to the Hindu God Vinayagar. This brightly-coloured construction at Quincy Street was built in 1992, and serves as the place of worship for around 5,000 Hindus living in Victoria. Those willing to take off their shoes and leave them at the entrance may visit the small temple outside of ceremony hours.

Exterior of the Hindu Temple in VictoriaThe Hindu Temple at the heart of Victoria is a bright, colourful sight (© Rüdiger Steffan)
 

Bel Air Cemetery

Located on Bel Air Road is an area containing crumbling tombs and sarcophagi, where the citizens from the first days of Victoria were laid to rest. Among them was a mythical person called the 'Giant of Bel Air'. It is told that he was almost 3 metres (10 ft) tall at just 16 years old, could carry large fishing boats alone, and lifted bags of rice with just one finger. His grave is located in the central, elevated part of the cemetery, and the cemetery in general is a Seychelles national monument.

Bel Air Cemetery on MahéThe haunting scenery of Bel Air Cemetery on Mahé
 

Bicentennial Monument

This statue can be found in Freedom Square, at the eastern end of Independence Avenue. The statue consists of three pairs of extended white wings, and was built in 1978 to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Victoria. The monument was created by Italian artist Lorenzo Appiani, who lived in the Seychelles at the time. The three wings symbolise the origins of the Seychelles' population, and represent the three continents represented in the country: Africa, Europe, and Asia.

The Seychelles Bicentennial MonumentThe Bicentennial Monument, photo by David Stanley (CC BY 2.0)
 

Cable & Wireless

It was here that the very first Seychelles telephone connections were made, connecting the country to Mauritius, Zanzibar, and Aden. The wooden house was carefully renovated in 1893, and then more recently by telephone company Cable & Wireless, and still serves as the latter's administrative centre.

 

Clock Tower

In the middle of the intersection of Independence Avenue and Albert Street stands the Clock Tower (French: l'Horloge, Creole: Lorloz), now a symbol of the island's capital. It was erected in 1903 to honour the Queen. Despite often taking the name 'Little Big Ben', it is actually based on the less-famous clock tower in London, located at the intersection of Victoria Street and Vauxhall Bridge Road since 1897. The governor of the time saw the clock on a visit to London and ordered the smaller copy to be made. A special quirk of the clock is that it strikes twice on the hour, instead of once, inspiring the chorus of the song "Going back to the Seychelles, where the clock strikes twice".

The clock tower in Victoria, Little Big BenLittle Big Ben, the clock tower in the Seychelles capital, Victoria
 

Cathedral of Our Lady of Immaculate Conception

The largest Catholic church in the Seychelles, built in 1892 and renovated in the mid-1990s, is located in a slightly elevated position at the edge of the city. The design of the cathedral harks back to Seyhellois architect Gilbert Frichot, while the tabernacles and doors were designed by sculptor Egbert Marday. Brilliant colours shimmer through the stained-glass windows of the building, which is surrounded by a beautiful garden. Beside the cathedral lies the two-storey Priest house, La Domus, built in 1934. This house consists of granite, and can legitimately be claimed to be one of the most impressive buildings in the Seychelles. The church serves as a quiet, contemplative space, not far from the bustle of the market, and one that is primarily used by women for worship or to lay down flowers. The bell tower is located behind the building, and dates back to 1898, while the small house next door was built in 1933. The church itself is large enough for around 700 worshippers.

ImageThe Cathedral (© Rüdiger Steffan)
ImageThe Capuchin House (© Rüdiger Steffan)
Mass Times - Mon - Fri: 6.00, Sat: 17.00, Sun: 7.00 and 9.00.
 

Kenwyn House

Next to the Cable & Wireless building is Kenwyn House, renovated to remain in-keeping with its original style, and undoubtedly one of the most beautiful buildings displaying French colonial architecture. Inside, you will find an exclusive souvenir shop where you can buy precious items such as South African jewellery, while the house's art gallery displays Seychellois painting exhibitions.

Opening Times - Mon - Fri: 9.00 - 16.00, Sat: 8.00 - 12.00

Exterior of Kenwyn House in the SeychellesKenwyn House (© Rüdiger Steffan)
 

Mosque in Victoria

Mahé is home to many different religious beliefs which co-exist in harmony, hence this small mosque in Victoria. The gilded dome of the building really contrasts the green that surrounds it.

Exterior of the mosque in VictoriaThe Mosque in Victoria, Seychelles (© Rüdiger Steffan)
 

National Museum of History

Here, you can discover more about the history and development of the city. Prehistoric maps, old firearms, and other commodities are among the exhibits on show in the modern building of the National Library.

Opening Times - Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri: 8.30 - 16.30, Wed: 8.30 - 12.00, Sat: 9.00 - 13.00
The Seychelles National Museum of HistoryThe National Museum of History is located inside the National Cultural Centre
 

National Botanical Gardens

The green jewel of the city should definitely be on the agenda for all who visit Mahé. Here, you can get an overview of the different Seychelles flora species, as well as discover some of the local wildlife. At the entrance, you can pick up a brochure detailing the domestic and foreign plant species (a combined total of around 500 plants), including 40 species of palm trees. If you want to see everything, we recommend one or two hours. Some of the beautiful sights on offer include breadfruit, papaya, and nutmeg trees, Indian tamarind, exotic plants and ornamentals, and of course the famous Coco de Mer palm tree. Besides that, the comprehensive orchid garden offers 150 different species, while native birds and bats can be admired in the upper regions of the gardens. The tour concludes with a large enclosure, in which giant Aldabra tortoises live.

Image
Image

The garden was founded in 1901 by botanist Paul Dupont of Mauritius, who wanted to draw attention to the monoculture of coconut and vanilla cultivation in the Seychelles. Nowadays, this 10,000 square metre refuge promotes biodiversity and preservation. The plants that Dupont brought with him form the basis of today's park, which can be found on Mont Fleuri Road, south of the city. At its highest point, you can purchase hot and cold drinks, as well as lunch and dinner.

Opening Times - Daily: 8.00 - 17.00, admission €5
 

National Library Building

A modern steel/glass structure that lies on the corner of Francis Rachel Street/4th June Avenue houses an extensive library. Anyone who wishes to delve into the history, geography, culture, or literature of the Seychelles in air-conditioned surroundings should stop off here during their trip. Since 1995, the archive has been open to the public, and admission is free.

Opening Times - Mon - Fri: 8.30 - 15.30, Sat: 8.30 - 12.00
National Library BuildingNational Library Building
 

Seychelles Natural History Museum

Next to the main post office on Independence Avenue is a small museum, containing replicas, images, plants, and taxidermied animals. While not the most exciting exhibition, anyone interested in history or geography will find something to enjoy here, with ship models, maps, photographs, drawings and documents from historical periods. The so called 'Pierre de Possession' - the 'Stone of Seizure' - is probably the most important exhibit. This stone was installed in 1756 to symbolise the possession of the Seychelles by the French royal family. Another exhibit is the 180 million year-old granite stone that was found in 1981 while test-drilling for oil. This serves as proof that the rocks in the Seychelles and the plateau on which the islands stand are among the oldest formations on Earth, as well as strengthening the theory that the islands used to be part of Gondwana, the supercontinent.

The Natural History MuseumThe Natural History Museum
 

State House

Around 200 m (656 ft) west of the Clock Tower lies an entrance gate, behind which a lush, landscaped garden and statehouse, built in 1913, can be found. Formerly the residence of British governors, since the 1970s the building has served as the President's home and working space, so you can generally only see it from afar. That said, it can sometimes be worthwhile asking in one of the city's travel agencies for their help in getting a little closer, as the glorious idyll that can be found on-site is uniquely beautiful. All guests of the government have handed over various gifts over the years, including flowers, shrubs, and trees, and all of these have been given a place here and are carefully maintained.

 

St. Paul’s Cathedral

This church is located on Revolution Avenue, opposite the Clock Tower, and is the oldest and largest Anglican church in the Seychelles, and considered the second landmark of the archipelago. Consecrated in 1859 by the first Anglican Bishop of Mauritius, and subjected to a renovation in the early 21st century, the church now seats 800, twice as many as before. Since 1920, the Seychelles and Mauritius have shared their own diocese, with St. Paul serving as the second bishop's see.

Service Times - Mon: 12.15, Tue: 6.30, Wed: 9.00, Thu: 5.30, Fri: 6.30 and 12.15, Sat: 17.00, Sun: 6.30 and 8.30 - admission free
Exterior of St. Paul’s Cathedral in the SeychellesSt. Paul’s Cathedral (© Rüdiger Steffan)
 

Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market

One of the two 'city centres' in Victoria runs through the middle of the city in the shade of a large mango tree, around the Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market. Built in 1840, the market was named after a French governor who built the stands himself for the local farmers and fishermen to use to sell their goods. Nowadays, the stalls have become more commercial, and are rarely run by the farmers themselves, but rather by merchants. Even early in the morning, the market is awash with people and stalls containing fruits, vegetables, spices, and artisanal works. The colourful, aromatic displays consist of limes, bananas, papaya, mango, passion fruit, guava, pineapple, sweet potato, aubergine, breadfruit, fish, chilli, star anise, tamarind, cinnamon, vanilla pods, hats, baskets, carvings, postcards, clothing, and much more! From the first floor of the market, you can look down on the hustle and bustle below, as well as enjoy souvenir shops and craft booths. Besides that, there's a quality café where you can sit and enjoy the intense colours, sounds, and smells of the market while enjoying breakfast or a snack for lunch.

Opening Times - Mon - Fri: 5.30 - 17.30, Sat: 6.00 - 14.00
ImageOne of Mahé's highlights is the Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market
ImageThe Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke market in Victoria offers a wide variety of wares
 

Victoria House

This historic wooden building and its accompanying outbuildings line the corner of Independence Avenue/Sir Francis Rachel Street, diagonally opposite the Clock Tower. The building was constructed in the late 19th century to serve as the seat of the New Oriental Bank, before later becoming the Seychelles' Supreme Court. Unfortunately, you can only visit the outside, with a small park serving up a few cosy shaded spots. In front of the building, you can see the bust of French botanist Pierre Poivre (1719 - 1786).

x
+ -
Seychelles image

Direktflüge nach Mahé (SEZ)

x

Täglich fliegen mehrere Airlines mit Zwischenstopp auf die Seychellen.
Hier finden Sie alle Direktflug Möglichkeiten im Überblick.

Flughafen Airline Hinflug Rückflug
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr. Sa.
Wien (VIE) Austrian Airlines Mi.* Do.*
*ab Oktober 2017

Seychellen Reiseführer Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen

Seychellen Karte

Mahé


Victoria

Die Hauptstadt der Seychellen

An der Nordostküste Mahés, auf einer Seite von steilen Berghängen eingefasst, liegt die Hauptstadt der Republik der Seychellen. Sie vermittelt in ihrer Verträumtheit auf den ersten Blick nicht unbedingt, das kulturelle und administrative Zentrum einer Inselnation zu sein. Die lediglich zwei Dutzend Straßen und Gassen unterstreichen die Gemütlichkeit nicht nur der Stadt, sondern auch des Wesens der Seychellois grundsätzlich. Ganz im Sinne von “Schönheit wirkt im Stillen” sucht man hier vergeblich nach Parkhäusern, Leuchtreklame oder prahlendem Pomp - und findet auch nur zwei Ampeln. Mit etwa 25.000 Einwohnern stellt sie dennoch die größte Ansiedlung und einzige Stadt der Seychellen dar. Ihre Gründung geht auf französische Siedler im Jahr 1778 zurück, von den Briten wiederum erhielt sie ihren Namen, der ihr zu Ehren der Königin gegeben wurde.

Doch wie kann man sich das Provinznest nun vorstellen? Man denke an einen lebhaften kleinen Markt mit Fisch-, Obst- und Gemüseständen, an liebenswerte Restaurants, dazu an Büros, Banken und Shops. Optisch öffnet Victoria sich an der östlichen Seite zum Hafen und dem Meer mit den vorgelagerten Inseln des Ste. Anne Marine Nationalparks. Am New Pier legen Kreuzfahrtschiffe wie auch große Frachter und Tanker an, über den Seeweg findet nämlich ein reger Rohstoff- und Warenaustausch statt. Die wichtigsten Exporte dieses Hafens sind Gewürzvanille, Kokosnüsse und Kokosöl, Seifen, Thunfisch und Zimtrinde. Zum Stadtgebiet gehört auch der Internationale Flughafen, ein Botanischer Garten und eine Fachhochschule, außerdem Museen, Gotteshäuser, Büros von Unternehmen der Tourismusbranche, von Fluggesellschaften und Banken, es gibt ein Kino und Boutiquen.

Das Stadtbild wird überwiegend von Stein- und Holzhäusern aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert geprägt, welche mit ihren bunten Fassaden, Fensterläden und Ballustraden ein fröhliches Bild abgeben. Geht man an den Gebäuden vorbei - zum Teil durch herrlich verwinkelte Gassen - , steigen einem oftmals spannende Gewürzdüfte in die Nase, und wenn man einen Blick hineinwirft, entpuppt das Innere sich als kleiner Krämerladen, in den man sich prima für den Alltag eindecken kann. Morgens gegen 8 und nachmittags um etwa 16 Uhr kann man etwas mehr Leben in Victoria bemerken. Dies ist die Zeit, in der man einkaufen geht, vielleicht einen Kaffee trinkt, in der man “sieht und gesehen wird”. Doch dieses Schauspiel dauert nicht sehr lange an, denn um 17, spätestens um 18 Uhr schließen die Läden und werden die Bürgersteige in der Seychellen-Hauptstadt hochgeklappt. Entspannt kann man den Tag dann bei einem exotischen Cocktail in einem der Szenetreffs am Hafen ausklingen lassen. Wer mag, findet weitere Unterhaltung später auch noch in der Discothek oder der Spielautomatenhalle.

Victoria wartet gleich mit zwei Zentren auf: Das eine verläuft um den Clock Tower - die Nachbildung des Uhrturms an der Vauxhall Bridge in London und mittlerweile Wahrzeichen der Seychellen - , der sich in der Mitte des nördlichen Kreisverkehrs befindet. Um ihn herum befinden sich Banken, die Post, der Justizpalast und als gesellschaftlicher Mittelpunkt das Snackrestaurant “Pirates Arms” an der Independence Avenue.

Der Clock Tower in Victoria ist ein Wahrzeichen der Seychellen.Der Clock Tower in Victoria ist ein Wahrzeichen der Seychellen.

Schräg gegenüber liegt das Nationalmuseum, etwas weiter die Straße entlang trifft man auf einige Reisebüros und die Touristeninformation, in der man sich mit Trail-Karten zum Wandern ausstatten kann. Das zweite Zentrum umgibt den Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market, der wiederum vom Uhrturm nur etwa fünf Fußminuten entfernt liegt. Ein Besuch lohnt sich, vor allem am frühen Samstagmorgen, wenn dort Hochbetrieb herrscht und Fische, Gewürze und exotische Früchte angeboten werden.

Der Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market in Victoria hat allerlei zu bieten.Der Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market in Victoria hat allerlei zu bieten.

Vom Markt aus kann man nach Norden zur Revolution Avenue gehen, wo man weitere Snackrestaurants, Reisebüros und einen großen Supermarkt findet. Diese Straße führt im weiteren Verlauf auf die Passhöhe der Erhebung St. Louis und von dort in Serpentinen hinunter zum Beau Vallon Strand. Aus knapp 300 m Höhe kann man Victoria bestaunen, wenn man eine Wanderung unterhalb des Gipfels der Trois Frères unternimmt.

Durch Aufschüttungen wurden im nördlichen Teil des Hafenbeckens neue Flächen geschaffen, auf denen ein großer Sportkomplex, Tennisplätze, ein Schwimmstadion und eine Mehrzweckhalle errichtet wurden. Im angrenzenden neuen Ortsteil Roche Caiman entstand in dem Zuge ein Siedlungsgebiet mit ca. 2000 Wohneinheiten, die die expandierende Stadt dringend benötigte und die außerdem die Bautätigkeit in Mahés Bergen eindämmen sollen. Eden Island südlich von Victoria ist die elegante Version neuen Siedlungsraumes. Sie präsentiert sich modern mit Luxusvillen, edlen Bars und Restaurants, Jachthäfen und einem Shopping Center.

Landgewinnungsmaßnahmen auf Mahé: Eden IslandLandgewinnungsmaßnahmen auf Mahé: Eden Island

Victoria ist es zweifelsohne wert, etwas eingehender erkundet zu werden. So überschaubar sich das Städtchen auch zeigt - hier warten einige Spots darauf, spannende kulturelle und historische Fakten zu präsentieren.

 

Arul Mihu Navasakthi Vinayagar Temple

Von den Besuchern aus aller Welt wird an diesem, dem Gott Vinayagar gewidmeten Hindu-Heiligtum besonders das bunte, figurengeschmückte Portaldach bestaunt und fotografiert. Der knallbunte Lichtfang an der Quincy Street wurde 1992 errichtet und ist das Gotteshaus für die etwa 5.000 Hindus, die in Victoria leben. Wer sich nicht scheut, seine Schuhe auszuziehen und sie am Eingang abzustellen, darf die kleine Tempelanlage außerhalb der stattfindenden Zeremonien besichtigen.

Der Hindutempel im Herzen Victorias ist ein knallbunter Lichtfang. (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)Der Hindutempel im Herzen Victorias ist ein knallbunter Lichtfang. (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)
 

Bel Air Cemetery

An der Bel Air Road gelegen, in einer Art Talkessel mit verfallenen Grabstätten und Sarkophagen, ruhen die ersten Bürger aus der Gründerzeit Victorias. Darunter soll sich auch ein mythenumwobener Jüngling, genannt der “Riese von Bel Air”, befinden. Über ihn wird erzählt, er solle bereits als 16-jähriger fast 3 m groß gewesen sein, so dass er große Fischerboote allein an Land getragen und einen Sack Reis mit einem Finger gehoben haben soll. In dem doppelt so langen Grab im erhöhten Teil des Friedhofs soll seine Ruhestätte sein. Der Bel Air Cemetery gehört zu den nationalen Denkmälern der Seychellen.

Ein schaurig-schöner Anblick, Bel Air Cemetery, MahéEin schaurig-schöner Anblick, Bel Air Cemetery, Mahé
 

Bicentennial Monument

Diese Statue findet man inmitten des Freedom Square, der Kreuzung am Ostende der Independence Avenue, und sie besteht aus drei Paaren ausgedehnter weißer Flügel. Sie wurde 1978 aus Anlass des 200. Geburtstages von Victoria errichtet und von dem italienischen Künstler Lorenzo Appiani geschaffen, der auf den Seychellen lebte. Die drei Flügel sollen die Herkunft der Bevölkerung der Seychellen symbolisieren und stehen für die Mischung von ethnischen Gruppen dreier Kontinente: Afrika, Europa und Asien.

The Bicentennial Monument, Foto: © David Stanley (CC BY 2.0)The Bicentennial Monument, Foto: © David Stanley (CC BY 2.0)
 

Cable & Wireless

Von hier aus wurden die allerersten seychellischen Telefonverbindungen hergestellt. Sie gingen damals nach Mauritius, Sansibar und Aden. Das Holzhaus wurde 1893 sowie in neuerer Zeit von der Telefongesellschaft Cable & Wireless originalgetreu renoviert und dient auch heute noch als ihr Verwaltungssitz.

 

Clock Tower

Mitten auf der Kreuzung der Independence Avenue/Albert Street steht der Clock Tower (franz.: L’Horloge, kreol.: Lorloz), heute Wahrzeichen der Inselhauptstadt. Er wurde im Jahr 1903 zu Ehren der Queen aufgestellt. Auch wenn er hier und da als “Little Big Ben” bezeichnet wird, so orientiert er sich eigentlich an einem Uhrenturm, der in London seit 1897 an der Kreuzung Victoria Street/Vauxhall Bridge Road steht. Der damalige englische Gouverneur sah den Turm bei einem Besuch in London und bestellte daraufhin die kleinere Kopie. Besonderheit: Er schlägt stündlich gleich zwei Mal. Dies verhalf ihm zum Refrain des Songs “Going back to the Seychelles, where the clock strikes twice”.

“Little Big Ben” - Der Clock Tower in der Inselhauptstadt auf Mahé“Little Big Ben” - Der Clock Tower in der Inselhauptstadt auf Mahé
 

Cathedral of Our Lady of Immaculate Conception

Die größte katholische Kirche der Seychellen, im Jahr 1892 erbaut und Mitte der 1990er Jahre renoviert, steht etwas erhöht und am Rand der Stadt. Die Neugestaltung der Kathedrale der Empfängnis geht auf den von den Seychellen stammenden Architekten Gilbert Frichot zurück, Tabernakel und Türen gestaltete der Bildhauer Egbert Marday. In brillanten Farben schimmern dazu die Kirchenfenster des von einem sehr gepflegten Garten umgebenen Sakralbaus. Neben der Kathedrale sieht man das 1934 erbaute zweigeschossige Priesterwohnhaus La Domus. Es besteht aus Granitstein und kann mit Fug und Recht als eines der besonders beeindruckenden Bauwerke der Seychellen bezeichnet werden. Unweit der Geschäftigkeit rund um den Marktplatz findet man in der Kirche einen besinnlichen Ort, der vor allem von Frauen zur Andacht genutzt wird oder um Blumen niederzulegen. Der sich hinter dem Bauwerk befindliche Glockenturm stammt aus dem Jahr 1898, das sich mit Arkaden präsentierende Kapuzinerhaus daneben ist von 1933. Das Gebäude fasst an die 700 Gläubige.

ImageDie Kathedrale (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)
ImageDas Kapuzinerhaus (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)
Messen: Mo-Fr 6 Uhr, Sa 17 Uhr, So 7 und 9 Uhr
 

Kenwyn House

Neben dem Gebäude von Cable & Wireless steht das Kenwyn House, welches ebenfalls stilgetreu renoviert wurde und sicher zu den schönsten Bauwerken französischer Kolonialarchitektur gehört. Im Inneren gibt es ein exklusives Souvernirgeschäft, in dem man edle Mitbringsel wie südafrikanischen Schmuck erstehen kann, und in der dazugehörigen Galerie finden Kunstausstellungen seychellischer Maler statt.

Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Fr 9-16 Uhr, Sa 8-12 Uhr
Das Kenwyn House (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)Das Kenwyn House (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)
 

Moschee von Victoria

Innerhalb der Vielzahl an Glaubensrichtungen, die auf Mahé harmonisch nebeneinander existieren, findet man auch eine kleine Moschee. Ihre vergoldete Kuppel leuchtet schon von Weitem aus dem umgebenden Grün empor.

Die Moschee von Victoria (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)Die Moschee von Victoria (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)
 

National Museum of History

Hier hat man Gelegenheit, mehr über die Geschichte und Entwicklung der Stadt zu erfahren. Prähistorische Landkarten, einstige Feuerwaffen und weitere Gebrauchsgegenstände zählen zu den Exponaten, die im modernen Gebäude der Nationalbibliothek zu erkunden sind.

Öffnungszeiten: Mo, Di, Do, Fr 8.30-16.30 Uhr, Mi 8.30-12 Uhr, Sa 9-13 Uhr
 

National Botanical Gardens

Dieses grüne Juwel der Stadt sollte unbedingt zum Ausflugsprogramm gehören, kann man sich hier doch einen plastischen Überblick über die prachtvolle Seychellen-Flora verschaffen und zum Teil auch die hiesige Tierwelt entdecken. Die am Eingang erhältliche Broschüre führt durch den üppigen Park und informiert über die einheimischen und importierten Baumarten sowie weitere der hier zu sehenden etwa 500 Pflanzen, darunter knapp 40 Palmenarten. Möchte man alle botanischen Spezialitäten der Seychellen zu sehen bekommen, so ist ein Gang von etwa ein bis zwei Stunden einzuplanen. Brotfrucht-, Papaya- und Muskatbäume, Indische Tamarinden und der Kanonenkugel-Baum, viele exotische Nutz- und Zierpflanzen und natürlich die berühmte Coco de Mer-Palme gehören dabei ebenso zu den potentiellen Fotoobjekten wie die hübschen Exemplare im 150 Arten umfassenden Orchideengarten. Zahlreiche einheimische Vögel wie auch Flughunde sind im oberen, überwiegend als natürlicher Nebelwald belassenen Teil zu bestaunen. Der Rundgang schließt mit einem großen Gehege, in dem Aldabra-Riesenlandschildkröten leben.

Image
Image

Im Jahr 1901 gründete der Botaniker und Agronom Paul Dupont von Mauritius den Garten, um auf die bedenkliche Entwicklung der Monokultur des Kokos- und Vanilleanbaus auf den Seychellen aufmerksam zu machen. In diesem 10.000 m² großen Refugium sollte nun Biodiversität erhalten und gefördert werden. Die von ihm mitgebrachten tropischen Gewächse bilden den Grundstock des heutigen Parks, den man an der Mont Fleuri Road im Süden der Stadt findet. An seinem höchsten Punkt kann man bei weitem Blick am kleinen Café ein Heiß- oder Erfrischungsgetränk erhalten, mittags und abends ist es auch möglich, sich hier mit einem kreolischen Imbiss zu stärken.

Öffnungszeiten: Tägl. 8-17 Uhr, Eintritt 5 €
 

National Library Building

Ein moderner Stahl-/Glasbau an der Ecke Francis Rachel Street/4th June Avenue beherbergt eine umfangreiche Bibliothek. Wer mag, kann sich hier in angenehm klimatisierter Umgebung in interessante Themen wie die Geschichte, Geografie, Kultur oder Literatur der Seychellen vertiefen. Das seit 1995 hier vorhandene Archiv ist öffentlich zugänglich und der Eintritt kostenlos.

Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Fr 8.30-15.30 Uhr , Sa 8.30-12 Uhr
National Library BuildingNational Library Building
 

Seychelles Natural History Museum

Neben dem Hauptpostamt in der Independence Avenue ist ein kleines Museum mit Repliken, Bildern, Pflanzen und ausgestopften Tieren der Seychellen beheimatet. Hier ist keine Ausstellung mit Sensationswert zu erwarten, doch wer sich für Geschichte und Geografie interessiert, kann hier das eine oder andere Spannende entdecken, beispielsweise Schiffsmodelle von Segelbooten, mit denen die ersten Siedler vor Ort eintrafen, oder Karten, Fotografien und Zeichnungen, die Dokumente aus früherer Zeit sind. Der sogenannte Pierre de Possession - der Stein der Inbesitznahme - dürfte das bedeutendste Ausstellungsstück sein: Dieser wurde im Jahr 1756 installiert, um die Inbesitznahme der Seychellen durch das französische Königshaus zu symbolisieren. Außerdem unter den Exponaten: Ein etwa 180 Millionen Jahre alter, besonders harter Granitstein, auf den man 1981 bei Probebohrungen nach Öl stieß. Dieser dient als Beweis dafür, dass das Gestein der Seychellen sowie das Plateau, auf dem sich die Inseln befinden, zu den ältesten Erdformationen überhaupt zu zählen sind; zudem stärkt der Fund die Theorie, dass es sich aus historischer Sicht bei den Inseln um Abbruchteile von Gondwana, dem Urkontinent, handelt.

Natural History MuseumNatural History Museum
 

State House

Vom Clock Tower aus in westlicher Richtung trifft man nach etwa 200 m auf ein Eingangstor, hinter dem sich ein üppig angelegter Garten und das 1913 errichtete State House befinden. Die einstige Residenz britischer Gouverneure, seit den 1970er Jahren Sitz der präsidialen Wohn- als auch Büroräumlichkeiten, ist normalerweise nur aus der Ferne zu bewundern. Es kann sich aber lohnen, in einem der Reisebüros der Stadt zu fragen, ob man dort diesbezüglich behilflich sein kann - denn das prachtvolle Idyll, das man auf dem Gelände findet, ist absolut einmalig. Alles, was Gäste der Regierung im Lauf der Jahrhunderte als Geschenke in Form von Blumen, Sträuchern und Bäumen überreichten, hat hier einen Platz bekommen und wird sorgsam gepflegt.

 

St. Paul’s Cathedral

Dieses Gotteshaus - zu finden an der Revolution Avenue, gegenüber des Uhrenturms - ist das älteste und größte anglikanische der Seychellen und gilt inzwischen als zweites Wahrzeichen des Archipels. Es wurde 1859 durch den ersten anglikanischen Bischof von Mauritius geweiht und Anfang des 21. Jahrhunderts einer Renovierung unterzogen, so dass es nun mit 800 Plätzen doppelt so viele Gläubige fasst wie vorher. Seit 1920 bilden die Seychellen mit Mauritius eine eigene Diözese, der zweite Bischofssitz liegt seitdem in St. Paul.

Messen: Mo 12.15 Uhr, Di 6.30 Uhr, Mi 9 Uhr, Do 5.30 Uhr, Fr 6.30 und 12.15 Uhr, Sa 17 Uhr, So 6.30 und 8.30 Uhr, Eintritt frei
St. Paul’s Cathedral (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)St. Paul’s Cathedral (Foto: © Rüdiger Steffan)
 

Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market

Eines der beiden Zentren von Victoria verläuft mitten in der Stadt, im Schatten eines großen Mangobaumes, rund um den Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market. Seinen Namen verdankt das 1840 erbaute Marktareal einem französischen, geadelten Gouverneur: Die Stände wurden von ihm errichtet und den Bauern und Fischern zur Verfügung gestellt, die hier ihre Ware verkaufen durften. Heute sind die Marktstände kommerzialisiert und oftmals verkaufen nicht mehr die Bauern selbst, sondern sie haben diese Aufgabe an Händler abgegeben. Bereits in den frühen Morgenstunden tummeln sich hier die Besucher und an zahlreichen Ständen werden Gemüse und Obst, Fische, Gewürze sowie handwerkliche Arbeiten feilgeboten. Die bunte, aromatische Vielfalt reicht von Limonen, Bananen, Papayas, Mangos Passionsfrüchten, Guaven, Ananas, Süßkartoffeln, Auberginen, Brotfrüchten und Maniok über Papageien-, Segel- und andere exotische Fische bis hin zu Chilis, Sternanis, Tamarinden, Zimt- und Vanillestangen, Hüten, Körben, Schnitzereien, Postkarten, Kleidung usw. In der ersten Etage findet man eine Galerie, auf der man sich das lebendige Treiben von oben anschauen kann. Hier kann man in Souvernirläden und an Kunsthandwerkständen auch noch das eine oder andere hübsche Andenken finden; außerdem gibt es ein nettes Café, in dem man in angenehmer Nähe zu den intensiven Farben, Stimmen und Gerüchen des Marktes entspannt verweilen und auch gut frühstücken oder zu Mittag einen Imbiss einnehmen kann.

Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Fr 5.30-17.30 Uhr, Sa 6-14 Uhr
ImageEin Highlight auf Mahé: der Sir Selwyn Selwyn-Clarke Market
ImageDer Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market in Victoria hat allerlei zu bieten.
 

Victoria House

Das historische Holzgebäude samt Nebengebäuden an der Ecke Independence Avenue/Sir Francis Rachel Street (schräg gegenüber vom Clock Tower) wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts als Sitz der New Oriental Bank erbaut, später logierte hier das Oberste Gericht der Seychellen. Eine Besichtigung ist leider nur von außen möglich, hier kann man in dem kleinen Park ein paar schöne, schattige Plätze finden. Vor dem Bauwerk sieht man die Büste des französischen Botanikers, Inselverwalters und Aufklärers Pierre Poivre (* 1719 - † 1786).