Mahé (SEZ)

x

Airport Depature flight Return flight
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr Sa
London Heathrow (LHR) British Airways We, Sa Th, Su
Paris Charles de Gaulle (CDG)* Air France Tu, Th, Sa We, Fr, Su
Zurich (ZRH) Edelweiss Sa Mo
*From 31.10.2019

Seychelles Travel Guide The Complete Guide to the Seychelles

Book accommodation

Outer Islands


Farquhar Group

The Farquhar Group consists of two large clusters of islands in the Outer Seychelles Islands, approximately 700 km away from Mahé. The group contains such islands as Farquhar, Providence Banks and Saint Pierre, the first two of which are atolls. Besides that, the almost completely submerged Wizard Reef belongs to the group. In total, the islands of the Farquhar Group take up around 10 square kilometres; the area including the lagoon is much larger, approximately 370 km² in total.

 

Farquhar Atoll

With an area of around 7.5 km², the Farquhar Atoll is the larger of the two atolls. What makes Farquhar unique is the 10 metre-high sand dunes that can be found here. The atoll was discovered in 1501 by Portuguese sailor João da Nova. From 1965 up until the Seychelles declared their independence in 1976, the island belonged to the British Empire. In total, the atoll consists of nine forested islands surrounding a beautiful lagoon, which is up to 14 m deep at its peak. Through the only two passages in the reef, boats can reach the inside of the lagoon. Or, on one of the nine islands, there is a small settlement with 15 residents and a small landing strip. Lucky tourists can also sometimes come to the island, as there is a small accommodation, usually used by researchers for the IDC (Island Development Company). Besides the lush shrubbery on the atoll, sea-faring birds and crabs can also be found here in their hundreds.

 

Providence Atoll

The Providence Atoll stretches out in a north-south direction for more than 30 km (19 miles), with a total area of 1.5 km². Belonging to the atoll are two islands that only protrude out of the water a few metres: Providence Island and Cerf Island. The Seychelles Island Development Company offers the chance for eco-tourists who are interested in the island's grey heron population to visit. For more information, visit the IDC website (Victoria/Mahé, Tel. 438 46 40) or various travel agencies on Mahé.

 

St. Pierre

Approximately 30 km (19 miles) west of Providence lies the almost completely-circular Saint Pierre Island, which is 1.68 square kilometres in size. As this is also part of of a so-called 'raised atoll', there are huge 12 metre riff cliffs here, which make landing a boat from the water almost impossible (the interior of the island is almost at sea level). After years of guano production, in the 1970s the island was once again under the ownership of the many sooty tern birds who come here in early summer to breed.

This website uses cookies to enhance your browser experience. Learn more.

x
+ -
Seychelles image

Direktflüge nach Mahé (SEZ)

x

Täglich fliegen mehrere Airlines mit Zwischenstopp auf die Seychellen.
Hier finden Sie alle Direktflug Möglichkeiten im Überblick.

Flughafen Airline Hinflug Rückflug
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr. Sa.
Wien (VIE) Austrian Airlines Mi.* Do.*
*ab Oktober 2017

Seychellen Reiseführer Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen

Seychellen Karte

Äußere Inseln


Farquhar-Gruppe

Die Farquhar-Gruppe bildet eine zweite größere Inselansammlung der Äußeren Seychellen und liegt ungefähr 700 km von Mahé entfernt. Zu ihr zählen die Inseln Farquhar, Providence Banks (beides Atolle) und Saint-Pierre. Außerdem gehört auch das knapp unterhalb der Meeresoberfläche liegende Wizard-Riff zur Gruppe. Die Landfläche aller Farquhar-Inseln beträgt ca. 10 km², die Fläche inklusive der Lagunen jedoch weitaus mehr, nämlich ganze 370 km².

 

Farquhar-Atoll

Das Farquhar-Atoll ist mit etwa 7,5 km² Landfläche das größere der beiden Atolle. Das Besondere an Farquhar sind die bis über 10 m hohen Sanddünen. Entdeckt wurde es schon im Jahr 1501 durch den portugiesischen Seefahrer João da Nova. Von 1965 bis zur Unabhängigkeit der Seychellen 1976 gehörte es zum Britischen Territorium. Es besteht aus neun bewaldeten Inseln, die eine traumhaft schöne Lagune umschließen, welche an ihrer tiefsten Stelle 14 m hinabreicht. Durch die einzigen beiden Durchlässe im Riff können Boote in die Lagune einfahren. Auf einer der Inseln gibt es eine kleine Siedlung mit 15 Einwohnern sowie einen Flugplatz. Mit Glück kommt man auch als Tourist hier unter, grundsätzlich ist die einzige, kleine Unterkunft allerdings Forschern des IDC (Islands Development Company) vorbehalten. Neben dem üppigen Buschwerk sind hier vor allem Seevögel und Krabben zu finden, Hunderte an der Zahl.

 

Providence-Atoll

Das Providence-Atoll erstreckt sich in Nord-Süd-Richtung über mehr als 30 km, bei einer Landfläche von 1,5 km². Zum Atoll gehören neben einigen für ihren Fischreichtum berühmten Sandbänken zwei Inseln, die sich nur wenige Meter über die Meeresoberfläche erheben: Providence Island und Cerf Island. Die Seychelles Island Development Company setzt hier auf Ökotouristen, die sich für die größte Graureiherpopulation der Seychellen interessieren. Auskünfte dazu erteilt die IDC (Victoria/Mahé, Tel. +248 438 46 40) bzw. Reiseagenturen auf Mahé.

 

St. Pierre

Ungefähr 30 km westlich von Providence liegt die fast kreisrunde Insel Saint-Pierre, die eine Fläche von 1,68 km² aufweist. Da es sich um ein sogenanntes gehobenes Atoll handelt, gibt es hier eine bis zu 12 m hohe Riffküste, die ein Anlanden vom Wasser aus nahezu unmöglich macht (im Inselinneren liegt die Oberfläche in etwa auf Meereshöhe). Nach jahrelangem Guanoabbau in den 1970er-Jahren gehört die unbewohnte Insel heute wieder den vielen Rußseeschwalben, die im Frühsommer hier brüten.