x
+ -
Seychelles image

Seychelles Travel Guide The Complete Guide to the Seychelles

Map of the Seychelles

Top 10 Highlights

All This & More Awaits You!

The Seychelles are full of highlights just waiting to be discovered, including the beautiful Anse Source d'Argent beach on La Digue, the famous Vallée de Mai nature reserve on Praslin, or the smallest capital city in the world, Victoria! With so much to see, the Seychelles are the ideal candidate for an island-hopping holiday, with the three main islands being connected via ferry transfer, and many of the Seychelles' other smaller islands being reachable by boat as part of a daily excursion or a short stay.

 

1. Silhouette

The third-largest of the inner Seychelles islands, Silhouette, is a 20 km² granite island located north-east of Mahé, rising up to 751 m above sea level at its highest point. With undisturbed beaches, extensive nature, and absolute isolation, Silhouette has many attractive characteristics to capture your attention. The island's two small villages house approximately 150 people, most of whom operate the island's two accommodation options: the five-star Hilton Labriz Resort and the La Belle Tortue Lodge. Silhouette does not have any roads or streets, and no supermarkets, but this makes it the ideal spot to enjoy a few days of relaxation.

ImageSilhouette Island
 

2. Anse Source d'Argent

Anse Source d'Argent is a fantastic beach on La Digue. In fact, it's so beautiful that it has been used as the set of both films and advertising shorts. Shallow turquoise water, incredible white sand, and contrasting, imposing granite boulders create a postcard scenery that makes the beach one of the most-photographed in the Seychelles.

Image
 

3. Victoria

The smallest capital city in the world will automatically be on the agenda of anyone travelling to another Seychelles island by boat, as it is also home to Mahé's harbour. Victoria has many other things to make it worth a visit, however, including restaurants, shops, cafés, and the beautiful Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Market, where you can buy freshly-caught fish and exotic fruits, as well as spices, herbs, and much more.

 

4. Vallée de Mai

This natural park on Praslin belongs to the UNESCO World Heritage list, and is one of the best-known sights in the Seychelles. Besides the endemic Coco de Mer coconut, which has the largest seeds of any plant in the world, there are many more floral species to see here. In total, there are around 5,000 different species that you can see here.

ImageVallée de Mai, Praslin
Image 
 

5. Beau Vallon

This widespread bay ranks among the Seychelles best-known and most-popular beaches, for holidaymakers and locals alike. Numerous accommodation options, restaurants, and tour operators make this beach a real 'all-rounder' for your stay on Mahé.

 

6. Sainte Anne Marine Park

This environmentally-protected national park consists of six different islands, just off the coast of Mahé. The snorkelling grounds between the islands rank among the best in the Seychelles, so make sure to bring along your snorkelling gear!

 

7. Bird Island

This small island is the northernmost island in the Seychelles, and is a real natural wonder. From May to September, the island is home to millions of sooty tern birds, and is also home to Esmerelda, a 200 year-old giant tortoise, and the oldest of its species in the world!

ImageBird Island
Image 
 

8. Anse Lazio

Anse Lazio is a picture-book beach on Praslin, the second-largest of the Seychelles' inner islands. The mixture of turquoise water, powdery white sand, and incredible granite boulders make this beach one of the most beautiful in the Seychelles.

 

9. Curieuse

This small island is right next to Praslin, and is a popular destination for day-trips and excursions. Besides Praslin, it is the only island where the well-known Coco de Mer palm tree grows naturally. The island is also home to mangrove forests and many giant tortoises.

ImageGiant tortoises like this one can be found on Curieuse Island
 

10. Morne Blanc

The 905 m-high peaks of Mahé are a treat for hiking fans. The Morne Blanc Tour (667 m) is an example of this, trailing through old tea plantations and tropical forests to the peak. The effort is definitely worth it for the view from the top, which is stunning.

x
+ -
Seychelles image

Direktflüge nach Mahé (SEZ)

x

Täglich fliegen mehrere Airlines mit Zwischenstopp auf die Seychellen.
Hier finden Sie alle Direktflug Möglichkeiten im Überblick.

Flughafen Airline Hinflug Rückflug
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr. Sa.
Wien (VIE) Austrian Airlines Mi.* Do.*
*ab Oktober 2017

Seychellen Reiseführer Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen

Seychellen Karte

Top 10 Highlights

Diese Höhepunkte warten auf den Seychellen auf Sie!

Ob der Traumstrand Anse Source d’Argent auf La Digue, der berühmte Naturpark Vallée de Mai auf Praslin oder die kleinste Hauptstadt der Welt, Victoria – diese Highlights (und noch viele mehr) gibt es auf den Seychellen zu entdecken! Übrigens eignen sich die Inseln perfekt für ein Inselhüpfen, da die drei Hauptinseln mit einer Fähre verbunden sind. Von ihnen lassen sich die vielen kleineren, teilweise einsamen Inseln mit einem Tagesausflug per Boot oder einem Aufenthalt kombinieren.

 

1. Silhouette

Die mit 20 km² drittgrößte Insel der Inneren Seychellen liegt nordöstlich vor Mahé und ragt bis zu 751 m aus dem Indischen Ozean empor. Silhouette lockt mit unberührten Stränden, viel Natur und absoluter Abgeschiedenheit. In zwei Dörfern leben hier nur etwa 150 Menschen, die sich die Insel mit den beiden Unterkünften, dem Fünf-Sterne-Resort Labriz und der La Belle Tortue Lodge, teilen. Silhouette verfügt weder über Straßen noch über Supermärkte und ist auch sonst kaum erschlossen. Der perfekte Ort, um für ein paar Tage die Seele baumeln zu lassen.

SilhouetteSilhouette
 

2. Anse Source d'Argent

Die Anse Source d‘Argent ist ein absoluter Traumstrand auf La Digue, der sogar bereits als Film- und Werbekulisse diente. Türkisblaues, flaches Meer und strahlend weißer Strand schaffen mit den eindrucksvollen Granitfelsen eine Bilderbuchkulisse, die diesen Strand zu einem der fotogensten der Seychellen macht.

 

3. Victoria

Die kleinste Hauptstadt der Welt sieht jeder Reisende, der eine der anderen Hauptinseln per Fähre ansteuern möchte, denn hier befindet sich auch der Inselhafen. Victoria hat aber auch noch viel mehr zu bieten: Restaurants, Shops, Cafés, den wunderbaren Wochenmarkt “Sir Selwyn Selwyn Clarke Markt”, der neben fangfrischem Fisch auch zahlreiche exotische Früchte, Gewürze und vieles mehr im Angebot hat.

 

4. Vallée de Mai

Der Naturpark auf Praslin zählt zum UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe und ist eine der berühmtesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Seychellen. Neben der endemischen “Coco de Mer”-Nuss, die den größten Samen weltweit hat, wachsen hier auch noch viele andere Palmenarten. Insgesamt sind es auf engstem Raum über 5.000 Exemplare, die den Besuchern einen einzigartigen Einblick in die Natur gewähren.

ImageVallée de Mai, Praslin
Image 
 

5. Beau Vallon

Die weitläufige Bucht zählt zu den bekanntesten und beliebtesten Stränden der Seychellen – und das für Urlauber und Einheimische gleichermaßen. Viele Unterkünfte, Restaurants und Touranbieter machen diesen Traumstrand zu einem absoluten Allrounder.

 

6. Sainte Anne Marine Park

Das Naturschutzgebiet besteht aus sechs Inseln vor der Küste von Mahé. Das Schnorchelrevier zwischen den Inseln zählt zu einem der schönsten der Seychellen. Die Schnorchelausrüstung gehört übrigens bei jedem Seychellenurlaub ins Gepäck!

 

7. Bird Island

Diese kleine Insel ist die nördlichste der Seychellen und ein Wunder der Natur. Sie ist von Mai bis September die Heimat von Millionen an Rußseeschwalben. Und auch Esmeralda, die mit 200 Jahren älteste Riesendschildkröte der Welt, lebt hier.

ImageBird Island
Image 
 

8. Anse Lazio

Die Anse Lazio ist ein Bilderbuchstand auf Praslin, der zweitgrößten Insel der Inneren Seychellen. Die Mischung aus türkisblauem Wasser, pulverweichem Sand und eindrucksvollen Granitfelsen machen diesen Strand zu einem der schönsten der Seychellen.

 

9. Curieuse

Die kleine Insel liegt direkt vor Praslin und ist beliebtes Ziel für Ausflüge. Neben Praslin ist sie die einzige Insel, auf der die berühmte Seychellen-Nuss “Coco de Mer” natürlich wächst. Hier findet man neben Mangrovenwäldern auch viele Riesenschildkröten.

Diesen Riesenschildkröten begegnet man auf der Insel Curieuse.Diesen Riesenschildkröten begegnet man auf der Insel Curieuse.
 

10. Morne Blanc

Die Insel Mahé bietet bis zu 905 m hohe Gipfel und viele Routen für Wanderfans! Die Morne Blanc-Tour (667 m) beispielsweise geht durch alte Teeplantagen und tropische Wälder hinauf zum Gipfel. Die Mühe lohnt sich, denn der Ausblick auf die Westküste ist fantastisch.