image

Seychelles Travel Guide

The Complete Guide to the Seychelles Book accomodation

Marianne

Marianne: A World-Class Diving Venue

The island of Marianne, located south-east of Félicité, has a beautiful beach on its west side. Otherwise, the island is surrounded by a rugged coast. Marianne's vegetation is characterised by dense palms, which can be found on its entire 1,900-metre long and 800-metre wide outline. Not even 1 square kilometre in size, the island is also relatively flat, with its highest point reaching around 130 metres above sea level. The islanders once tried to grow corn on the island, but, unfortunately, the presence of the Marianne White Eye killed off the crop.

The island was also used for copra production at one point. The former plantation employed at least 60 people who lived in the small settlement of 'La Cour' at the time. After the coconut plantation was disbanded, the island's inhabitants also left, leaving the island deserted.

The waters that surround the island rank among the most popular diving spots in the world, with mantas, grey reef sharks, and even whale sharks visible here. The La Digue Island Lodge diving centre offers boats that will take you to Marianne, while it is also possible to find excursions to the area on Praslin.

Image
Loading...
Gessica

We are glad to help you!

Mon-Thu: 10am-6pm · Fri: 10am-4pm CET

  • * = Please fill in this field
New: Free cancellation up to 45 days before travel date
Dear customers,

For all bookings made after 26 May 2020, we would like to offer you special cancellation conditions that are more flexible and without risk for you. Cancel your holiday up to 45 days before the start of your trip without any cancellation fees. In addition, no payment of the deposit of your trip is required until it is clearly and officially communicated that travelling to the Seychelles is possible again.

Flights mediated through us are excluded from this promotion, here the payment and travel conditions of the airlines apply. We will be happy to advise you!

New: Free cancellation up to 45 days before travel date

image

Seychellen Reiseführer

Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen Unterkunft buchen

Marianne

Eines der beliebtesten Tauchreviere der Seychellen

Die Insel Marianne, südöstlich von Félicité gelegen, hat auf ihrer Westseite einen herrlichen Traumstrand zu bieten und ist ansonsten von einer schroffen Küste umgeben. Ihre Vegetation ist durch dichten Palmenbewuchs gekennzeichnet. Mit einer maximalen Länge von 1900 und einer Breite von etwa 800 m ist sie keinen Quadratkilometer groß, ihre höchste Erhebung, der Estel Hill, reicht bis auf 130 m. Einst versuchte man es auf dem Eiland mit dem Anbau von Mais, in Folge dessen musste der nur auf Marianne vorkommende Seychellen-Dotterbrustbrillenvogel leider aussterben.

Auch die Kopraproduktion erhielt hier Einzug, die damalige Plantage beschäftigte immerhin 60 Menschen, die derzeit in der kleinen Siedlung “La Cour” unterkamen. Nach dem Ende der Kokosnussplantage zogen die Menschen rasch ab und seither ist die Insel unbewohnt.

Die umgebenden Gewässer zählen zu den beliebtesten Tauchplätzen weltweit und nicht selten sieht man hier Mantas, Graue Riffhaie und sogar Walhaie. Die Tauchbasis der La Digue Island Lodge bietet Bootsfahren in Richtung Marianne an, auch von Praslin sind Ausflüge in diese Richtung möglich.

Image
Wird geladen...
Julia

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Mo-Do: 10-18 Uhr · Fr: 10-16 Uhr

  • * = Pflichtfeld, bitte ausfüllen
Neu: Kostenlose Stornierung bis 45 Tage vor Reisedatum
Liebe Kunden,

für alle Buchungen, die ab dem 26. Mai 2020 abgeschlossen werden, möchten wir Ihnen spezielle Stornierungsbedingungen anbieten, die für Sie flexibler und ohne Risiko sind. Stornieren Sie Ihren Urlaub bis zu 45 Tage vor Reiseantritt ohne Stornogebühren. Im Übrigen ist die Anzahlung erst fällig, wenn Reisen auf die Seychellen wieder erlaubt sind.

Von der Aktion ausgenommen sind die über uns vermittelten Flüge, hier gelten die Zahlungs- und Reisebedingungen der Fluggesellschaft. Wir beraten Sie dazu gerne!

Neu: Kostenlose Stornierung bis 45 Tage vor Reisedatum