image

Seychelles Travel Guide

The Complete Guide to the Seychelles Book accomodation

Southern Coral Islands

The Southern Coral Islands group contains just two islands that lie outside of the Seychelles coral plain, and which do not belong to any of the other Seychelles island groups, such as the Amirantes.

 

Île Platte

All alone, over 100 km (62 miles) south of Mahé, the forested Île Platte lies atop an undisturbed coral reef. Just 0.54 km² in size, the island was discovered in 1769 by Lietenant de Lampériaire of La Curieuse, and was named for its flat surface. On the western coast of the island there is a small settlement. The island's few inhabitants make their money from farming or fishing, and are connected to the rest of the Seychelles via boat and plane. Île Platte belongs to a mostly-sunken coral atoll, which is around 25 km x 14 km in size, giving it a total area of 270 square kilometres. Together with the island of Coëtivy, which is 170 km south-east of Île Platte (105 miles), the island belongs to the Southern Coral Islands.

 

Coëtivy

On a plateau, around 270km south of Mahé, lies Coëtivy, the longest uninterrupted stretch of sand in the Seychelles. This flat, 10 km-long island has an area of just 9.31 km², and around 250 inhabitants who supply Mahé with various goods such as fish and meat. Fishing and farming are therefore the main sources of income for the island. Coëtivy is also home to a shrimp breeding ground, which was placed there in 1989. Giant tiger prawns are bred here for exportation. Coëtivy is privately-owned by the Seychelles Marketing Board (SMB).

Carefree Cancellation Policy
Close

For this accommodation, for all bookings made from 12.12.2020 on, our special “carefree booking” cancellation policy based on the travel conditions in section 6.3.c) applies. The remaining regulations remain unaffected.

up to 15 days before departure:
no fees
3-14 days before departure:
cancellation fee of 75%
0-2 days before departure (or in case of no-show):
cancellation fee of 90%

In addition, SeyVillas alternatively grants you the right to change your booking free of charge up to 4 days prior to departure to another date of the same value (= same season, surcharges for higher seasonal rates may apply).

The aforementioned cancellation fees will not be charged by SeyVillas in any case even if the Federal Foreign Office has issued a travel warning or an absolute travel ban for German citizens.

Loading...
Isabelle

We are glad to help you!

Mon-Fri: 10am-2pm CET

  • * = Please fill in this field
Open
Our tip: Book now your holiday for the time after Covid-19!

image

Seychellen Reiseführer

Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen Unterkunft buchen

Südliche Koralleninseln

Südliche Koralleninseln ist eine Sammelbezeichnung für zwei allein liegende Inseln, die außerhalb der Seychellen-Bank liegen und korallinen Ursprungs sind, dabei aber keiner anderen geografischen Inselgruppe, etwa den Amiranten, zugeordnet werden können.

 

Île Platte

Einsam, über 100 km südlich von Mahé, liegt die bewaldete Île Platte auf einer unberührten Korallenbank. Nur 0,54 km² groß, wurde sie 1769 von Lieutenant de Lampériaire of La Curieuse entdeckt und bekam wegen ihrer ebenen Fläche den Namen Platte. An der Westküste liegt eine kleine Siedlung. Landwirtschaft und Fischfang sind seit jeher das, wovon die wenigen Bewohner der Insel leben, die via Flugzeug oder Boot erreichbar ist. Île Platte gehört zu einem überwiegend versunkenen Atoll, welches bei einer Ausdehnung von 25 x 14 km eine Fläche von ganzen 270 km² bedeckt. Zusammen mit der 170 km südöstlich gelegenen Insel Coëtivy zählt man sie zur Gruppe der Südlichen Koralleninseln.

 

Coëtivy

Auf einem Plateau rund 270 km südlich von Mahé gelegen, hat Coëtivy die längste ununterbrochene Strandlinie der Seychellen-Inseln. Die flache, 10 km lange Insel weist eine Fläche von 9,31 km² auf, hat etwa 250 Einwohner und dient der Versorgung Mahés. Fisch- und Fleischproduktion sowie Landwirtschaft sind dabei die Haupteinnahmequellen. Auf der Insel besteht seit 1989 eine Anlage zur Garnelenzucht, Giant Tiger Prawns werden hier gezüchtet und exportiert. Coëtivy ist in privatem Besitz und gehört dem Seychelles Marketing Board (SMB).

“Sorgenfrei buchen”-Stornierungsbedingungen
Schließen

Für diese Unterkunft gelten ab dem Buchungsdatum 12.12.2020 die besonderen “Sorgenfrei buchen”-Stornierungsbedingungen gem. Reisebedingungen in Ziffer 6.3.c). Die übrigen Regelungen bleiben unberührt.

Bis zum 15. Tag vor Reiseantritt:
kostenfrei
Ab dem 14. Tag bis 3. Tag vor Reiseantritt:
75%
Ab dem 2. Tag vor Reiseantritt / No-show:
90%

Zusätzlich gewährt Ihnen SeyVillas alternativ ein kostenfreies Umbuchungsrecht bis zum 4. Tag vor Reiseantritt auf einen gleichwertigen anderen Termin (gleiche Saison, Preisaufschläge für höhere Saisonpreise müssen gegebenenfalls nachbezahlt werden).

Die vorstehend genannten Stornokosten werden von SeyVillas in jedem Fall auch dann nicht berechnet, wenn für den Tag des Reiseantritts eine Reisewarnung des Dt. Auswärtigen Amtes vorliegt oder ein absolutes Einreiseverbot für deutsche Staatsangehörige.

Wird geladen...
Julia

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Mo-Fr: 10-14 Uhr

  • * = Pflichtfeld, bitte ausfüllen
Öffnen
Unser Tipp: Jetzt Urlaub für die Zeit nach Covid-19 buchen!