x
+ -
Seychelles image

Mahé (SEZ)

x

Airport Depature flight Return flight
*From October 2017

Beach "Port Launay South Beach" · Mahé

  • Port Launay South Beach, Mahé
    • Swimming
    • Snorkeling
    • Coral reef
    • Shade
    • Family-friendly
    • Restaurant
    • WC
    • Parking
    • Bus stop
    • Photo-friendly

Highlights:

At high tide, visitors can rent a kayak and discover the nearby saltwater/freshwater marshland mix. Or, at low tide, guests can wade across to the small offshore island of Islette, enjoying beautiful views along the way!

Facts:

  • 670m x 25m - few visitors
  • Extremely shallow water - seaweed present from June to September
  • Extreme tides - calm ocean surface
  • Calm beach with stunning views
  • Great for swimming and snorkelling

Map:

At a Glance:

  • Calm beach in the north-west of Mahé, located in the Port Launay Marine Park.
  • Excellent for families thanks to the shallow water and calm ocean surface.
  • Can be reached by car, taxi, or bus thanks to the nearby road.
  • Restaurants and shops can be found nearby.
  • The calm surface ensures that the beach is well-suited to swimming, snorkelling, windsurfing, and kitesurfing.
  • At low tide, the water is so shallow that a number of unique rock formations appear from under the water, and visitors can also walk to the small offshore ‘Anse Islette’ beach (on a small nearby island).

Description:

As you might expect, Port Launay (South) lies in the Port Launay Marine Park on Mahé. While less popular than its northern cousin, this beautiful sandy bay offers plenty to the potential visitor, including beautiful scenery, views of offshore islands, restaurants and more.

Located within walking-distance of several popular accommodations, including the sprawling Constance Ephelia Resort, Port Launay (South) will likely be the first port-of-call for many holidaymakers. The nearby road also ensures that the beach can be found easily by guests staying elsewhere on Mahé, with nearby parking spaces and bus stops permitting swift, simple access to this beautiful bay.

One thing to keep an eye on here is the tide. At high tide, the beach almost completely disappears, which can lead to disappointment or confusion. At low tide, however, the beach takes on a completely different form, with a sprawling expanse of sand and shallow water. The receding ocean reveals a sandy path to the nearby Islette island, about 500m offshore, so you can, at times, simply walk across the sandy seabed to reach this tiny island. Besides that, the shallow water means that you can bathe in the cooling Indian Ocean without fear of drifting too far from the shore, or try out some windsurfing, kitesurfing, or snorkelling. Whatever your taste, you’ll find something to keep you busy at Port Launay (South).

The unique views of offshore islands and some of Mahé’s hilly regions, along with the calm, shallow water and beautiful sandy surface, combine to create a unique beach location for the Seychelles holidaymaker. While less popular than the northern Port Launay beach, it is no less attractive, and certainly holds its own against the Seychelles’ other fantastic beaches.

Nearby restaurants:

    • Del Place Bar & Restaurant
    • creole, international 
    • 4.5 of 5 748 Reviews  
    • 0.6 km
    • Phone:
      +248 2 81 41 11
      E-mail:
      pdelplace@yahoo.fr
      Website:
      www.facebook.com/delplacerestaurant
      Opening hours:
      Mon-Sun: 11am - 10pm
      Address:
      Port Glaud
      Payment:
      cash (SCR / € / $), credit card

      In this well-known restaurant in Port Glaud, guests can enjoy delicious food in an incredible location, right on the ocean. Enjoy Creole and international cuisine while the sun sets before your eyes behind the nearby island, a really beautiful sight!

    • Corossol
    • international 
    •  
    • 0.8 km
    • Phone:
      +248 4 39 50 00
      E-mail:
      info@epheliaresort.com
      Website:
      www.epheliaresort.com
      Opening hours:
      Mon-Sun: 7am - 10.30am
      6.30pm - 10.30pm
      Address:
      Constance Ephelia Resort , Port Launay
      Payment:
      cash (SCR / € / $), credit card

      The charming Corossol restaurant serves up international dishes in a buffet style. The delicious cuisine here will suit any taste buds, and the desserts especially shouldn't be missed. Besides dinner, Corossol also offers a delicious breakfast buffet, guaranteeing the perfect start to any day!

    • Adam & Eve
    • creole, international 
    • 4.5 of 5 3587 Reviews  
    • 0.9 km
    • Phone:
      +248 4 39 50 00
      E-mail:
      Info@epheliaresort.com
      Website:
      www.epheliaresort.com
      Opening hours:
      Mon-Sun: 12pm - 3pm
      7pm - 10.30pm
      Address:
      Constance Ephelia Resort, Port Launay
      Payment:
      cash (SCR / € / $), credit card

      The beautiful Adam and Eve restaurant is located on the beach in the south of Mahé, and offers guests African-style cuisine with the sand between their toes, letting you enjoy a real culinary dream. Lots of different dishes are prepared using the delicious home-made chutney, while there are also fish and meat dishes on the menu.

    • The Sea Shell at Port Launay
    • creole, international 
    •  
    • 0.9 km
    • Phone:
      +248 4 32 40 26
      E-mail:
      cruises@seychelles.net
      Opening hours:
      Opening hours at weekly activity schedule
      Address:
      Port Launay
      Payment:
      cash (SCR / € / $)

      The Sea Shell restaurant is located on a boat, and offers a weekly menu. - Every day (except Tuesday and Sunday): traditional lunchtime meal from 11am. - Every Monday, Thursday, and Friday: evening meal under the stars, from 5pm. - Tuesday and Sunday: day cruise to Baie Ternay from 9am until 4pm, including lunch and afternoon meal. - Wednesday and Saturday: sunset cruise with dinner included from 5pm until 9pm.

    • The Maharajas
    • indian 
    • 4.0 of 5 230 Reviews  
    • 2.2 km
    • Phone:
      +248 4 34 68 69
      E-mail:
      rm@themaharajasseychelles.com
      Website:
      www.themaharajasseychelles.com
      Opening hours:
      Mon: from 6.30pm
      Tue-Sun: 12pm - 10.45pm
      Address:
      Eden Island
      Payment:
      cash (SCR / € / $), credit card

      This restaurant is located in the middle of Eden Island, and offers a romantic location right on the water. Enjoy traditional Indian dishes, prepared using charcoal ovens, giving them a really exciting range of aromas.

    • Helios
    • creole, international 
    •  
    • 3.0 km
    • Phone:
      +248 4 39 50 00
      E-mail:
      Info@epheliaresort.com
      Website:
      www.epheliaresort.com
      Opening hours:
      Mo-So: 12pm - 5pm,
      7pm - 10.30 pm
      Address:
      Constance Ephelia Resort, Port Launay
      Payment:
      cash (SCR / € / $), credit card

      This restaurant is located in Port Launay on Mahé, and offers a varied buffet with influences from various countries, including France, Spain, Morocco, and Lebanon. In the afternoons, guests can even enjoy delicious ice cream and cakes here.

Nearby accommodation:

Resort · Mahé · Distance: 0.1 km · Map

4.5 of 5 3586 Reviews

Villa · Mahé · Distance: 1.1 km · Map

5 of 5 218 Reviews

x
+ -
Seychelles image

Direktflüge nach Mahé (SEZ)

x

Täglich fliegen mehrere Airlines mit Zwischenstopp auf die Seychellen.
Hier finden Sie alle Direktflug Möglichkeiten im Überblick.

Flughafen Airline Hinflug Rückflug
Frankfurt (FRA) Condor Fr. Sa.
Wien (VIE) Austrian Airlines Mi.* Do.*
*ab Oktober 2017

Strand "Port Launay Süd" · Mahé

  • Port Launay Süd, Mahé
    • Schwimmen
    • Schnorcheln
    • Korallenriff
    • Schatten
    • Familienfreundlich
    • Restaurant
    • WC
    • Parken
    • Bushaltestelle
    • Fotomotiv

Highlights:

Der Port Launay Marine Park gilt als eine der schönsten Gegenden der Seychellen. Traumhafte Strände, vorgelagerte Inseln und eine malerische Bergkulisse bilden ein beeindruckendes Naturschauspiel. Tipp: Hier gibt es ein Sumpfgebiet mit einer Mischung aus Süß- und Salzwasser. Dieses können Besucher bei Flut mit dem Kajak erkunden.

Fakten:

  • 670 m x 25 m - wenige Besucher
  • Sehr flaches Wasser - Seegras von Juni bis September
  • Starke Gezeiten
  • Ruhiger Strand mit atemberaubender Aussicht
  • Gut zum Schnorcheln und Schwimmen

Karte:

Auf einen Blick:

  • Ruhiger Strand im Nordwesten von Mahé, der sich im Port Launay Marine Park befindet.
  • Durch das flache und ruhige Meer ideal für Familien.
  • Sehr gut mit dem Auto, Taxi oder Bus über die Küstenstraße zu erreichen.
  • Restaurants und Shops befinden sich in der Nähe.
  • Das ruhige Meer bietet optimale Bedingungen zum Schwimmen und Schnorcheln.
  • Die Ebbe ist hier so flach, dass sie einen weiteren Strand mit vielen einzigartigen Felsformationen frei legt und Besucher zur Anse l’Islette laufen können.

Beschreibung:

Der Port Launay (South) befindet sich im Port Launay Marine Park im Nordwesten von Mahé, der größten Insel der Seychellen. Der Marine Park gilt als eine der bezauberndsten Gegenden der Seychellen. Auch wenn dieser Strand weniger beliebt ist als sein nördlicher Cousin, so hat er mit einer atemberaubenden Landschaft, kristallklarem Wasser und den vorgelagerten Inseln nicht weniger zu bieten.

Durch die Lage am Constance Ephelia Resort sind auch am Port Launay (South) eher dessen Gäste anzutreffen als andere Seychellen-Urlauber. Der Strand ist sehr gut mit dem Auto oder Bus über die Küstenstraße von Port Glaud zu erreichen. Parkmöglichkeiten sowie eine Bushaltestelle befinden sich in unmittelbarer Nähe.

Wer einen Besuch plant, der sollte die Gezeiten im Blick haben. Bei Flut ist der Strand fast vollständig bedeckt und hinterlässt nur einen kleinen Abschnitt. Bei Ebbe hingegen geht das Meer sehr weit zurück, wodurch es besonders flach ist und einen großzügigen Strandbereich mit schönen Felsformationen freilegt. Dann ist es sogar möglich zu Fuß zur vorgelagerten, etwa 500 Meter entfernten Insel “l’Islette” zu gehen. Das Meer ist hier sicher und eignet sich – vor allem bei Flut – gut zum Schnorcheln und Schwimmen. Wer etwas mehr möchte, der findet am Port Launay ideale Bedingungen zum Kiten und Windsurfen. Ein Besuch ist also mehr als lohnenswert.

Die einzigartige Mischung aus vorgelagerten Inseln, der wunderschönen Bergkulisse des Morne Blanc, kristallklarem Meer und schneeweißem Sand bildet ein beeindruckendes Naturschauspiel und ist wie geschaffen für einen traumhaften Strandtag. Ganz egal, ob Strand- oder Sonnenanbeter, Naturliebhaber, Picknicker oder Fotograf – hier kommt jeder Seychellen-Urlauber auf seine Kosten.

Restaurants in der Nähe:

    • Del Place Bar & Restaurant
    • Kreolisch, International 
    • 4,5 von 5 766 Bewertungen  
    • 0,6 km
    • Telefon:
      +248 2 81 41 11
      E-Mail:
      pdelplace@yahoo.fr
      Webseite:
      www.facebook.com/delplacerestaurant
      Öffnungszeiten:
      Mo-So: 11.00 – 22.00 Uhr
      Adresse:
      Port Glaud
      Zahlungsmittel:
      Bar (SCR / € / $), Kreditkarte

      In diesem beliebten Restaurant am Port Glaud gibt es sehr leckeres Essen in traumhafter Lage direkt am Meer. Genießen Sie die kreolische und internationle Küche bei einem Sonnenuntergang mit herrlichen Ausblick auf die vorgelagerten Inseln - einfach schön!

    • Corossol
    • International 
    •  
    • 0,8 km
    • Telefon:
      +248 4 39 50 00
      E-Mail:
      info@epheliaresort.com
      Webseite:
      www.epheliaresort.com
      Öffnungszeiten:
      Mo-So: 7.00 – 10.30 Uhr,
      18.30 – 22.30 Uhr
      Adresse:
      Constance Ephelia Resort , Port Launay
      Zahlungsmittel:
      Bar (SCR / € / $), Kreditkarte

      Im freundlichen Restaurant Corossol erwartet Gäste eine hervorragende, internationale Speisenauswahl, die im Buffetstil angeboten wird. Die köstlichen Gerichte überzeugen selbst den verwöhntesten Gaumen und auch die Nachspeisen sollten nicht verpasst werden. Neben einem Dinner bietet das Corossol auch ein reichhaltiges Frühstücksbuffet an, bei dem ein perfekter Start in den Tag garantiert ist.

    • Telefon:
      +248 4 39 50 00
      E-Mail:
      Info@epheliaresort.com
      Webseite:
      www.epheliaresort.com
      Öffnungszeiten:
      Mo-So: 12.00 – 15.00 Uhr,
      19.00 – 22.30 Uhr
      Adresse:
      Constance Ephelia Resort, Port Launay
      Zahlungsmittel:
      Bar (SCR / € / $), Kreditkarte

      Das wunderschöne Restaurant Adam & Eve befindet sich am Südstrand Mahés und lässt Gäste durch den Sandfußboden sowie die im afrikanischen Stil gehaltene Einrichtung in kulinarische Träume versinken. Viele Speisen werden mit dem hauseigenen, erstklassigen Chutney gewürzt, außerdem werden vorzügliche Fleisch- und Fischgerichte zubereitet.

    • The Sea Shell at Port Launay
    • Kreolisch, International 
    •  
    • 0,9 km
    • Telefon:
      +248 4 32 40 26
      E-Mail:
      cruises@seychelles.net
      Öffnungszeiten:
      Siehe wöchentlichen Aktivitätsplan
      Adresse:
      Port Launay
      Zahlungsmittel:
      Bar (SCR / € / $)

      Das Sea Shell Restaurant befindet sich auf einem Boot und bietet einen wöchentlichen Menuplan: • Jeden Tag (außer Di und So): ab 11 Uhr traditionelles Mittagessen. • Jeden Mo, Do und Fr: ab 17 Uhr Abendessen unter den Sternen. • Di und So: Tageskreuzfahrt nach Baie Ternay von 9 – 16 Uhr, einschließlich Mittagessen und Nachmittagstee. • Mi und Sa: Schifffahrt im Sonnenuntergang mit Dinner von 17 Uhr bis 21 Uhr.

    • Telefon:
      +248 4 34 68 69
      E-Mail:
      rm@themaharajasseychelles.com
      Webseite:
      www.themaharajasseychelles.com
      Öffnungszeiten:
      Mo: ab 18.30 Uhr
      Di-So: 12.00 – 22.45 Uhr
      Adresse:
      Eden Island
      Zahlungsmittel:
      Bar (SCR / € / $), Kreditkarte

      Dieses Restaurant liegt inmitten von Eden Island und hat eine romantische Lage direkt am Wasser. Genießen Sie die vielen traditionellen, indischen Gerichte, die hier immer noch mit traditionellen Holzkohleöfen zubereitet werden und dadurch die vollen Aromen entfalten.

    • Helios
    • Kreolisch, International 
    •  
    • 3,0 km
    • Telefon:
      +248 4 39 50 00
      E-Mail:
      Info@epheliaresort.com
      Webseite:
      www.epheliaresort.com
      Öffnungszeiten:
      Mo-So: 12.00 – 17.00 Uhr,
      19.00 – 22.30 Uhr
      Adresse:
      Constance Ephelia Resort, Port Launay
      Zahlungsmittel:
      Bar (SCR / € / $), Kreditkarte

      Das Restaurant liegt am Port Launay auf Mahé und bietet ein vielfältiges Büffet mit Einflüssen aus Ländern, wie Frankreich, Italien, Spanien, Marokko und dem Libanon an. Nachmittags kann man hier leckere Eiscreme und Kuchen bestellen.

Unterkünfte in der Nähe:

Resort · Mahé · Entfernung: 0,1 km · Karte

4.5 von 5 3622 Bewertungen

Villa · Mahé · Entfernung: 1,1 km · Karte

5 von 5 220 Bewertungen