image

Seychelles Travel Guide

The Complete Guide to the Seychelles Book accomodation

Scuba Diving in the Seychelles

The Seychelles are a veritable paradise for scuba diving fans. The breathtaking underwater scenery with its beautiful coral reefs invites you to explore and discover various animal and plant species. Dive into the depths of the Indian Ocean and see colourful displays underwater, which will make your diving experience in the Seychelles truly unforgettable. Plan a scuba-diving holiday in the Seychelles with our information and useful tips.

Scuba diving in the Seychelles: a unique experience

Crystal-clear water and wonderful underwater scenery make the Seychelles one of the best places to go scuba diving anywhere in the world. Discover more than just the blue ocean surface by exploring shimmering coral reefs and the colourful fish that swim there, as well as octopuses and crabs, among other species. Whitefishes and reef sharks can also be found as part of a scuba dive in the Seychelles, and you can watch them from right up close.

Another highlight to each diving trip in the Seychelles are the stunning sea turtles that you can see from up close. Hawksbill turtles are particularly common, as are green sea turtles. It’s even possible to see both species laying their eggs on the beach. However, if you do then it is important to be careful not to disturb this natural process by remaining quiet.

There are also other underwater species that you can discover as part of a scuba dive in the Seychelles:

Image: Scuba Diving in the Seychelles: Infographic above fish and other ocean species in the Seychelles

Hint: Many of these unique underwater species can also be seen by snorkelling. This underwater activity will see you remain on the surface and watch the plant and animal species from above. You can find out more about this on our page about snorkelling in the Seychelles.

The unique thing about scuba diving and snorkelling in the Seychelles is that you can see something different with every dive. The natural landscape and efforts to support sustainable tourism on the islands ensure that you will likely be undisturbed on your diving tour, which is far from guaranteed these days. Therefore, you can discover undisturbed diving spots all to yourself.

Hints for scuba divers: those looking for something adventurous can usually book diving tours to numerous shipwrecks or nighttime dives. Besides that, some of the Outer Islands of the Seychelles offer the chance to get to know the various ravines in the granite boulders, as well as explore the breathtaking coral reefs nearby.


Image: Diving in the Seychelles: red fire fish in the ocean (© Seychelles Tourism Board)
Image: Scuba diving in the Seychelles: hawksbill turtle next (© Silhouette Cruises)

Planning your scuba diving holiday: the best time to travel to the Seychelles

Scuba diving is possible in the Seychelles all year round. However, the best time to go on a scuba diving holiday is between March and May, and from September to November. The ocean is very still in these times due to the lack of wind, so you can enjoy visibility of up to 30 metres.
The best places to go scuba diving are found around the three largest islands in the Seychelles, Mahé, Praslin, and La Digue. If you want to discover the underwater world around these three islands then you can find specific articles about each of them here, as well as information about the various diving centres and other hints for each island:

Mahé: For an overview of diving centres on Mahé, as well as general information about diving and snorkelling around the island, see here.
Praslin: For an overview of diving centres on Praslin, as well as general information about diving and snorkelling around the island, see here.
La Digue: For an overview of diving centres on La Digue, as well as general information about diving and snorkelling around the island, see here.

Guided scuba diving tours offer the chance to get to know the best places in the Seychelles to go scuba diving. Numerous centres offer such excursions to both the inner and outer islands, ensuring that your diving tour will be the highlight of your trip. For experienced divers, there are also tours available where you will go up to 40 metres deep into the ocean, providing yet another view of the Seychelles’ underwater world for you to discover.
The prices for diving courses in the Seychelles vary. Depending on the diving centre, a simple diving tour may start at around 55 euros per person. Multiple-day tours or diving lessons (for example a PADI certification or similar) can cost around 350 euros per person. However, every tour is well worth the money for the numerous unforgettable moments you will take with you, as well as the various skills you will learn that may turn scuba diving into your new favourite hobby.
Here, we’ll show you just how breathtaking the underwater world of the Seychelles can be:




Scuba diving in the Seychelles: the right equipment

Whether you are a seasoned underwater explorer with your own gear or you are brand new to this wonderful hobby, the Seychelles offers something for everyone. The various diving centres in the Seychelles are well-equipped with snorkelling and scuba diving equipment, allowing anyone to try it out during their stay.
In any case, we will give you some hints and tips about the equipment you will need to make your holiday unforgettable.


Image: Snorkelling in the Seychelles: a man diving into the water (© Denis Private Island)
Image: Couple in the water before a diving tour (© Denis Private Island)

Equipment for scuba diving in the Seychelles

In order to make things safe and simple as you are scuba diving, the equipment you need is rather comprehensive. If you are gaining your first scuba diving experiences in the Seychelles, you can take part in diving classes and even try to pass the PADI diving certificate. The equipment you need for this course will be provided by the centre. If you’d like to go off on your own however, then you will likely be able to rent the necessary equipment upon presentation of a valid diving certificate.

Scuba diving equipment consists of the following:

  • Diving mask with snorkel
  • Diving flippers
  • Wetsuit
  • Buoyancy control device
  • Diving tank with scuba regulator and hose
  • Diving computer

In addition, you should take a torch/flashlight and a dive knife. If you are unsure what equipment is right for you then the experts at your diving centre will be glad to help out.

Image: Diving in the Seychelles: an instructor explains the equipment (© Silhouette Cruises)
Image: Scuba equipment: a woman prepares herself for a dive (© Denis Private Island)

Hints and tips for scuba divers: staying safe underwater

In order to explore the underwater world of the Seychelles to its fullest, you should pay attention to some safety tips during your dive. Here are our top 8 tips for staying safe while scuba diving in the Seychelles.

  • Get to know your dive site up front: where is it? Are there currents there? What will the weather be like?
  • If possible, don’t go snorkelling or scuba diving alone, but rather always with a partner or in a small group.
  • Stay within sight of your partner and stick to your diving plan.
  • Check your equipment and the equipment of your partner before the dive. The four-eyes principle is safer than a quick check by yourself.
  • Only go into the water if you are feeling up to it. Older scuba divers can get a health checkup before they go from their doctor to ensure they are fit for scuba diving.
  • Drink plenty of water beforehand.
  • Before surfacing, check the ocean above you to avoid collisions.
  • Do not disturb the underwater world and stick to the rules of sustainable diving and snorkelling that we will list afterwards.
Image: Scuba diving holiday: koran angelfish (© Seychelles Tourism Board)
Image: Scuba diving: manta ray by a coral reef (© Seychelles Tourism Board)

Sustainable scuba diving in the Seychelles

Environmental protection is important in the Seychelles in order to maintain the stunning nature that can be found around these islands. This will allow future generations to also discover the breathtaking underwater world of the Seychelles. With that in mind, you should stick to some rules while scuba diving in the Seychelles to help protect the environment.

  • Inform yourself in advance about restricted zones and protected areas. Snorkelling and scuba diving is not permitted in these areas.
  • Make sure you use sunscreen that is not harmful to the fish species, and which doesn’t contain micro plastics.
  • Do not leave any rubbish behind. If you discover rubbish on the beach or in the water then please collect it to help protect nature.
  • Do not throw food away and do not feed the animals.
  • Take care around plants and animals underwater. Avoid disturbing coral reefs, plants, or animals, and keep your distance from coral reefs.
  • Move carefully in the water. Try not to kick up any sediment or break any coral reef.
  • Only take equipment that you really need. This will make you lighter and disturb the animals in the water less.
  • Anchors should never be dropped above coral reefs.

If all scuba diving fans stick to these rules, they will be actively helping to protect the environment of the Seychelles. That way, everyone can do their part to protect the wonderful nature of these islands.
Hints for scuba divers: you can find more information about scuba diving in the Seychelles in our travel journals by our customers. They will tell you about some of their personal diving highlights and the best parts of their Seychelles holidays.

Loading...
Isabelle

We are glad to help you!

Mon-Fri: 10am-2pm CET

  • * = Please fill in this field
Open
Open
Entry Requirements

All you need to know before & during your stay in the Seychelles.

image

Seychellen Reiseführer

Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen Unterkunft buchen

Tauchen auf den Seychellen

Die Seychellen sind ein wahres Paradies für alle Taucher. Die atemberaubende und spektakuläre Unterwasserwelt mit ihren wunderschönen Korallenriffen lädt dazu ein, die einzigartige Tier- und Pflanzenwelt ausgiebig zu erkunden und zu bestaunen. Wagen Sie sich hinab in die Tiefen des Indischen Ozeans und beobachten Sie das bunte Treiben unter der Meeresoberfläche, was das Tauchen auf den Seychellen zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis macht. Planen Sie einen Tauchurlaub auf den Seychellen, finden Sie hier alle Infos und wichtige Tipps.

Tauchurlaub auf den Seychellen: ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis

Glasklares Wasser und eine faszinierende Unterwasserwelt machen die Seychellen zu einem der besten Orte, um ausgiebig zu tauchen. Begeben Sie sich auf eine Tauchreise unter der blauen Wasseroberfläche und entdecken Sie perlmuttfarbene Korallenbänke mit unzähligen farbenfrohen Fischen und anderen bunten Meerestieren wie Kraken oder Krebse. Auch Muränen und Riffhaie können Sie beim Tauchen auf den Seychellen aus nächster Nähe beobachten.

Ein besonderes Highlight einer jeden Tauchsafari auf den Seychellen sind die wunderschönen Meeresschildkröten, die Sie hautnah erleben können. Besonders häufig sind die Echte Karettschildkröte und die Grüne Meeresschildkröte auf den Seychellen anzutreffen. Es ist sogar möglich, beide Schildkrötenarten bei der Eiablage am Strand zu beobachten. Allerdings sollten Sie sich hier behutsam und vorsichtig bewegen und leise sein, um die Tiere nicht zu stören.

Darüber hinaus gibt es noch weitere besondere Unterwasserbewohner, die Sie beim Tauchen auf den Seychellen erwarten können:

ImageTauchhighlights rund um die Seychellen

Tipp: Viele dieser einzigartigen Unterwasserbewohner können Sie auch beim Schnorcheln entdecken. Bei dieser Unterwasser-Aktivität bleiben Sie an der Wasseroberfläche und beobachten die Pflanzen- und Tierwelt von oben. Mehr Informationen finden Sie in unserem Beitrag zum Schnorcheln auf den Seychellen.

Das Besondere am Tauchen und Schnorcheln auf den Seychellen ist, dass jeder Tauchgang eine einzigartige Erfahrung ist. Die naturbelassene Landschaft und die Bemühungen um einen nachhaltigen Tourismus auf den Inseln ermöglichen es, dass Sie auf Ihren Tauchausflügen nahezu ungestört sind, was heutzutage nicht mehr selbstverständlich ist. So erreichen Sie im Handumdrehen unberührte Tauchplätze, die Sie ganz für sich allein genießen und entdecken können.

Tipps für Taucher: Wer das Abenteuer sucht, kann bei verschiedenen Tauchzentren auch Touren zu Schiffswracks buchen oder die Unterwasserwelt bei Nacht bestaunen. Außerdem bietet sich vor den Inseln der Outer Islands die Möglichkeit, die Schluchten der Granitfelsen zu erkunden und in den nahegelegenen Riffen atemberaubende Gorgonien- und Fächerkorallen zu entdecken.


ImageSeychellen Tauchen: Rotfeuerfisch im Meer(© Seychelles Tourism Board)
ImageTauchurlaub Seychellen: Karettschildkröte im Korallenriff (© Silhouette Cruises)

Tauchreise planen: die beste Reisezeit zum Tauchen auf den Seychellen

Tauchen ist auf den Seychellen das ganze Jahr über möglich. Allerdings sind die besten Zeiten für eine Tauchreise die Monate März bis Mai und September bis November. In diesen Monaten weht kaum Wind, sodass das Wasser ganz ruhig ist und Sichtweiten von bis zu 30 m möglich sind.
Die besten Tauchplätze finden Sie rund um die drei größten Inseln der Seychellen: Mahé, Praslin und La Digue. Wollen Sie sich von der Unterwasserwelt rund um die drei Inseln verzaubern lassen, finden Sie nachfolgend eine Übersicht über die Tauchbasen für die jeweiligen Inseln:

Mahé: Eine Übersicht der Tauchbasen und alle weiteren Infos zum Thema Tauchen & Schnorcheln auf Mahé gibt´s hier.
Praslin: Eine Übersicht der Tauchbasen und alle weiteren Infos zum Thema Tauchen & Schnorcheln auf Praslin gibt´s hier.
La Digue: Eine Übersicht der Tauchbasen und alle weiteren Infos zum Thema Tauchen & Schnorcheln auf La Digue gibt´s hier.

Geführte Tauchtouren bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, die besten Plätze rund um die Seychellen zu erkunden. Zahlreiche Tauchbasen bieten solche Führungen rund um die Inner und Outer Islands an, die Ihre Tauchreise zu einem Highlight machen. Für erprobte Tauchfans sind auch geführte Touren in bis zu 40 m Tiefe möglich, die Ihnen ganz neue Einblicke in die Unterwasserlandschaft der Seychellen gewähren.
Die Preise für Tauchkurse auf den Seychellen sind unterschiedlich. Je nach Tauchbasis beginnt eine einfache Tauchtour bei ca. 55 € pro Person. Mehrtägige Tauchtouren oder Tauchlehrgänge (z. B. das PADI Tauchzertifikat oder eine Ausbildung zum Scuba Diver) können um die 350 € kosten. Jedoch ist jeder Tauchgang und jeder Kurs sein Geld wert, da Sie unvergessliche Momente mitnehmen und in Tauchlehrgängen wichtige Fähigkeiten lernen, die das Tauchen zum Lieblingshobby werden lassen.
Wie bezaubernd die Unterwasserwelt der Seychellen sein kann, zeigt Ihnen unser kleines Video:




Tauchen auf den Seychellen: die richtige Ausrüstung

Egal ob Sie schon ein eingefleischter Unterwasserfan sind und Ihre eigene Tauchausrüstung besitzen oder ob Sie dieses wunderschöne Hobby gerade für sich entdecken möchten – die Seychellen bieten das passende Angebot für jeden. Die verschiedenen Tauchbasen der Seychellen sind sehr gut ausgerüstet und verleihen Schnorchel- und Tauchausrüstung, sodass sie jederzeit unkompliziert Tauchen oder Schnorcheln können.
Nachfolgend geben wir Ihnen einen Überblick, welche Tauchausrüstung Sie für eine unvergessliche Tauchreise benötigen.


ImageSchnorcheln Seychellen: Mann springt ins Wasser (© Denis Private Island)
ImageTauchreise: Pärchen im Wasser vor Tauchbeginn (© Denis Private Island)

Ausrüstung für das Tauchen auf den Seychellen

Um sich unter Wasser gut zurechtzufinden und stets sicher unterwegs zu sein, ist die Tauchausrüstung sehr umfangreich. Wer erste Taucherfahrungen auf den Seychellen sammeln möchte, kann an Tauchlehrgängen teilnehmen und sogar das PADI Tauchzertifikat erwerben. Die nötige Tauchausrüstung dafür wird Ihnen von der jeweiligen Tauchbasis zur Verfügung gestellt. Möchten Sie auf eigene Faust hinabtauchen, haben Sie die Möglichkeit sich gegen Vorlage eines gültigen Tauchscheins Ausrüstung auszuleihen.

Eine Tauchausrüstung besteht aus folgenden Teilen:

  • Tauchmaske mit Schnorchel
  • Tauchflossen
  • Neoprenanzug
  • Tarierweste und Bleigurt
  • Druckluftflasche sowie ein Lungenautomat und Oktopus
  • Tauchcomputer

Zusätzlich sollten Sie eine Lampe und ein Tauchmesser mitnehmen. Sind Sie sich unsicher, welche Tauchausrüstung für Sie die richtige ist, können Sie sich im Fachhandel und in Ihrer Tauchbasis beraten lassen.

ImageTauchen Seychellen: Tauchlehrer erklärt Tauchausrüstung (© Silhouette Cruises)
ImageTauchausrüstung: Frau bereitet sich auf Tauchgang vor (© Denis Private Island)

Tipps für Taucher: Sicherheit unter Wasser

Um die facettenreiche Unterwasserwelt der Seychellen in all ihrer Pracht zu genießen, sollten Sie beim Aufenthalt im Wasser ein paar Sicherheitstipps beachten. Daher finden Sie hier unsere 8 Tipps für sicheres Tauchen auf den Seychellen:

  • Erkundigen Sie sich im Vorfeld über Ihren Tauchplatz: Wo liegt er? Gibt es dort Strömungen? Wie wird das Wetter?
  • Schnorcheln oder Tauchen Sie am besten nicht allein, sondern immer mit einem Partner oder einer kleinen Gruppe.
  • Bleiben Sie immer in Sichtweite Ihrer Partner und halten Sie sich an den Tauchplan.
  • Überprüfen Sie vor jedem Tauchgang Ihre Ausrüstung und die Ihres Partners. Das Vier-Augen-Prinzip ist sicherer als ein schneller Check allein.
  • Gehen Sie nur ins Wasser, wenn Sie sich gut fühlen und fit sind. Ältere Tauchfans können vor dem Tauchurlaub auf den Seychellen die Tauchtauglichkeit beim Arzt überprüfen lassen.
  • Trinken Sie vor dem Ausflug ausreichend Wasser.
  • Schauen Sie beim Auftauchen nach oben, um Kollisionen zu vermeiden.
  • Lassen Sie die Unterwasserwelt unberührt und achten Sie auf die Regeln zum umweltbewussten Tauchen und Schnorcheln, die wir nachfolgend vorstellen.
ImageTauchurlaub: Koran-Kaiserfisch (© Seychelles Tourism Board)
ImageTauchsafari: Mantarochen im Korallenriff (© Seychelles Tourism Board)

Umweltfreundliches Tauchen auf den Seychellen

Der Umweltschutz hat auf den Seychellen einen sehr hohen Stellenwert, damit die einzigartige Natur auf und rund um die Inseln erhalten bleibt. Damit auch zukünftige Generationen die wunderschönen Unterwasserwelten der Seychellen bewundern können, sollten sich alle Taucher an diese Regeln für umweltfreundliches Tauchen halten:

  • Informieren Sie sich im Vorfeld über Sperr- und Umweltschutzzonen. Hier ist das Tauchen und Schnorcheln untersagt.
  • Achten Sie darauf, Sonnencreme zu verwenden, die meeresfreundlich ist und kein Mikroplastik enthält.
  • Lassen Sie keinen Müll liegen. Sollten Sie Müll am Strand oder im Wasser entdecken, können Sie diesen einsammeln und so der Natur helfen.
  • Werfen Sie kein Essen in die Natur und füttern Sie keine Tiere.
  • Nehmen Sie Rücksicht auf die Pflanzen- und Tierwelt unter Wasser. Vermeiden Sie es Korallen, Pflanzen oder Tiere zu berühren und halten Sie genügend Abstand zu den Korallenriffen.
  • Bewegen Sie sich mit Bedacht im Wasser fort. Versuchen Sie, nicht das Sediment aufzuwühlen oder aus Versehen Korallen abzubrechen.
  • Tragen Sie am besten nur die Ausrüstung bei sich, die Sie wirklich brauchen. Das macht nicht nur das Tauchen leichter, sondern sorgt auch dafür, dass sie nicht so leicht hängen bleiben oder die Tiere unter Wasser irritieren.
  • Anker sollten nie über einem Riff ausgeworfen werden.

Wenn sich alle Tauchfans an diese Regeln halten, helfen sie aktiv beim Umweltschutz auf den Seychellen mit. Auf diese Weise können alle einen Beitrag dazu leisten, dass die wunderschöne Natur rund um die Inseln erhalten bleibt.
Tipps für Taucher: Viele weitere Infos zum Tauchen auf den Seychellen finden Sie in den Reiseberichten unserer Kunden. Sie berichten von ihren ganz persönlichen Tauch-Highlights und von Ihren schönsten Momenten auf den Seychellen.

Wird geladen...
Julia

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Mo-Fr: 10-14 Uhr

  • * = Pflichtfeld, bitte ausfüllen
Öffnen
Öffnen
Einreisebestimmungen

Alles, was Sie vor & während Ihres Seychellen Aufenthaltes wissen müssen.