image

Seychelles Travel Guide

The Complete Guide to the Seychelles Book accomodation

Hiking

Copolia Lodge Trail, Mahé

4 of 5 2825 Reviews
Copolia Lodge Trail

This path in the Morne Seychellois National Park leads up to the 497-metre-high Copolia (1,630 feet). The trail leads through a shady forest onto a plateau, from which hikers can enjoy a wonderful panoramic view of the Sainte Anne Marine National Park and Victoria, the capital. On particularly clear days, the view stretches all the way across to Praslin and La Digue. Discover numerous spice plants along the way, including cinnamon, vanilla, and pineapple, along with the carnivorous Pitcher Plant. The trail takes about two hours (return trip). To get to the starting point, take the bus from Victoria (number 14) towards Port Launay.

Difficulty: advanced Duration: 1.5 Hours
Location: Copolia Lodge, Mahé (-4.646097, 55.452557)

Morne Blanc, Mahé

4.5 of 5 386 Reviews
Morne Blanc

Anyone wishing to climb Morne Blanc can take this path of medium difficult, which is sure to make you sweat a bit. That said, it's worth the effort, as the end provides you with an incredible view of the western coast of Mahé. The path leads through an old tea plantation up to the top of the mountain. The higher you get, the foggier it tends to be, so you might not see the various plants that grow there, such as bentgrass, moss, or ferns. We also wouldn't recommend straying from the path due to the numerous holes and burrows that can be hard to spot. To get to the starting point, simply follow Sans Soucis Road from Victoria in the direction of Port Glaud. If you didn't book a rental car, then take the number 14 bus towards Port Launay. Alight at the old tea tavern, and follow the road up the mountain. After around 200 metres you will find an information board on the left-hand-side of the road.

Difficulty: advanced Duration: 1.5 Hours
Location: Tea factory, Mahé (-4.661193, 55.437733)

Glacis Trois Frères, Mahé

4.5 of 5 77 Reviews
Glacis Trois Frères

This hiking trail is simple, and well-suited to anyone thanks to its flatness. After a small climb of around 300 metres, hikers will reach a viewpoint, from which there is a widespread view out over the surrounding islands, the Sainte Anne Marine Park, and Victoria. On clear days, you can even see all the way across to Praslin and La Digue in the distance. Bring along sturdy shoes, enough drinking water, and mosquito protection in order to fully enjoy the trail. The return journey leads the same way in reverse, or you can go via Le Niol, from which buses depart until the late afternoon.

Difficulty: easy Duration: 1 Hours
Location: Sans Soucis, Mahé

Cassedent, Mahé

4 of 5 38 Reviews
Cassedent

Hikers should make sure that they are properly kitted out for this hike, as it is longer than the others. Bring along plentiful drinking water, some snacks, sturdy footwear, and bathing suits, as the path ends at an idyllic waterfall with a cave. The start of the trail can be found by following Sans Soucis Road from the capital, Victoria, towards Port Glaud. There is then a notice board around 400 metres after the Mission Lodge on the right-hand-side. Or, if you take the bus, the starting point is just a few metres from the bus stop.

Difficulty: advanced Duration: 3.5 Hours
Location: Sans Soucis, Mahé

Anse Major Trail, Mahé

Anse Major Trail

Anse Major Trail leads through the Morne Seychellois National Park on the rocky north-west coast of Mahé, before winding down to the small, isolated beach of Anse Major. The starting point is best reached via car or bus; take the bus number 21 from Victoria towards Bel Ombre and then get off at Danzil. From there, follow the road around 200 metres up the mountain. Those who decide to drive will also find parking spaces here. At the fork in the path, head right towards Danzil and follow the yellow markings. The 2.5 kilometre round-trip is then relatively flat.

Difficulty: easy Duration: 2 Hours
Location: Danzil, Bel Ombre, Mahé (-4.618753, 55.397537)

Vacoa Nature Trail, Mahé

Vacoa Nature Trail

This short hiking trail takes just 30 minutes, and leads across the Dauban river, alongside a network of mangrove trees, and through to a forest in the centre of the island. The forest is home to the panda nut, a tree that also goes by the name "Vacoa", after which the trail itself is named.

Difficulty: easy Duration: 0.5 Hours

Dans Gallas, Mahé

Dans Gallas

For those who want to enjoy an incredible panoramic view of the picturesque Beau Vallon, this is the hiking trail for you. The name "Gallas" comes from a group of Ethiopians who lived here in the 19th century, after they were freed from British sailors by Arabs. Along the way, the path becomes rather steep and rocky, but there are wooden steps and ladders to help you along the way. To get to the trail, take the number 32 bus to the "Le Noil" stop, where you can find an information centre for the national park.

Difficulty: advanced Duration: 3 Hours
Location: Grand Anse, Mahé (-4.68061, 55.455921)

Glacis La Réserve, Mahé

Glacis La Réserve

The "Glacis La Réserve" trail leads through the thick forest and over impressive granite floors. After a while, follow the arrows to a lookout platform, which has an incredible view of Mahé's eastern coast. The starting point is on the Montagne Posee Road, which joins Anse aux Pins in the east with Anse Boileau in the west. If you turn into the road from the eastern side, then follow it for a few kilometres to the Cable and Wireless Station, then you will come across the sign which indicates the start of the trail.

Difficulty: medium Duration: 2 Hours
Location: Montagne Posée Road, Mahé (-4.707262, 55.506645)

Salazie, Mahé

Salazie

This adventurous trail leads along mahogany trees and tee plantations, greeting you with beautiful wood and tea colours. The latter portion of the trail leads past a water tank into the thick forest where it gets darker and you really get the feeling of being surrounded by trees on all sides. Discover the different plants of the Seychelles along the way, before the trail ends at a private settlement.

Difficulty: advanced Duration: 3 Hours
Loading...
Gessica

We are glad to help you!

Mon-Thu: 10am-6pm · Fri: 10am-4pm CET

  • * = Please fill in this field
Important information
Dear customers,

the global corona pandemic has created a very unusual situation that is changing from hour to hour. Entry from Europe is no longer possible for all arrivals from 18.03.2020. You have a lot of questions and we will try to help you in the best possible way. Should your arrival be affected by this, we will contact you as soon as possible. We hope for your understanding that this may take some time at the moment and that we will contact customers travelling in the coming days first.

Latest information on the Coronavirus

image

Seychellen Reiseführer

Der komplette Reiseführer für die Seychellen Unterkunft buchen

Wandern

Copolia Lodge Trail, Mahé

Copolia Lodge Trail

Im Morne Seychellois Nationalpark verläuft dieser Wanderweg auf den 497 m hohen Copolia. Hier wird der Wanderer durch einen schattigen Wald auf ein Plateau geführt. Von dort aus hat man einen wundervollen Panoramablick auf den Sainte Anne Marine Park und Victoria. Bei besonders klarer Sicht kann man sogar Praslin und La Digue sehen. Unterwegs entdeckt man viele Gewürzpflanzen wie Zimt, Vanille, Ananas – auch die endemische Kannenpflanze "Pitcher Plant" gibt es ganz oben zu bestaunen. Für die Wanderung (hin und zurück) benötigt man 2 Stunden. Sie gelangen von Victoria zum Startpunkt der Wanderung mit dem Bus Nr. 14 Richtung Port Launay. Der Busfahrer wird Sie am Startpunkt absetzen, wenn Sie ihn bitten. Dort werden Sie ein Hinweisschild gegenüber der Copolia Lodge finden.

Schwierigkeit: fortgeschritten Dauer: 1.5 Std.
Lage: Copolia Lodge, Mahé (-4.646097, 55.452557)
Preis: 7 € / 100 SCR

Morne Blanc, Mahé

4.5 von 5 386 Bewertungen
Morne Blanc

Wer den Morne Blanc besteigen möchte, den erwartet ein mittelschwerer Pfad, bei dem man sehr ins Schwitzen kommt. Doch jede Anstrengung ist es wert, denn belohnt wird man mit einem atemberaubenden Blick auf die Westküste Mahés. Der Wanderweg führt durch eine alte Teeplantage und bergauf ändert sich zunehmend die Vegetation: Es wird nebelig und es wachsen Flechten, Moose und Farne. Es wird den Wanderern angeraden, nicht vom Weg abzuweichen, da viele Höhlen und Erdlöcher im Gestrüpp versteckt sind. Sie gelangen zum Eingang des Wanderpfades, indem Sie der aus Victoria herausführenden Sans Soucis Straße folgen, Richtung Port Glaud. Falls Sie keinen Mietwagen buchen wollen, können Sie mit dem Bus Nr. 14 Richtung Port Launay fahren. Dort steigen Sie an der alten Teetaverne aus und folgen der Straße bergauf. Nach ca. 200m steht auf der linken Straßenseite ein Hinweisschild.

Schwierigkeit: fortgeschritten Dauer: 1.5 Std.
Lage: Tea factory, Mahé (-4.661193, 55.437733)

Glacis Trois Frères, Mahé

4.5 von 5 77 Bewertungen
Glacis Trois Frères

Dieser Wanderweg ist einfach und für jedermann geeignet, da er über keine größeren Steigungen verfügt. Nach einem kleinen Anstieg von etwa 300 Metern gelangen die Wanderer auf einen Aussichtspunkt, von dem man überwältigende Aussichten auf die umliegenden Inselchen, den St. Anne Marine Park und die Stadt Victoria hat. An klaren Tagen kann man sogar Praslin und La Digue in der Ferne entdecken. Festes Schuhwerk, genug Trinkwasser und Mückenschutz sind auch hier unverzichtbar. Der Rückweg erfolgt über den gleichen Weg oder alternativ über Le Niol, von wo bis zum späten Nachmittag noch Busse fahren.

Schwierigkeit: einfach Dauer: 1 Std.
Lage: Sans Soucis, Mahé

Cassedent, Mahé

4 von 5 38 Bewertungen
Cassedent

Für diesen Wanderweg sollte man sich entsprechend ausstatten, denn er ist länger als die anderen. Genug Trinkwasser, ein paar Snacks, feste Schuhe und Badesachen, denn die Wanderung endet an einem natürlichen idyllischen Wasserfall mit einer Höhle. Sie finden den Anfang der Wanderung, indem Sie von Victoria die Sans Soucis Straße Richtung Port Gloud fahren. Ein Hinweisschild für diese Wanderung ist rechts ca. 400 m nach der Mission Lodge angebracht. Bei der Ankunft mit dem Bus (Nr. 14) befindet sich der Startpunkt nur wenige Meter von der Haltestelle entfernt.

Schwierigkeit: fortgeschritten Dauer: 3.5 Std.
Lage: Sans Soucis, Mahé

Anse Major Trail, Mahé

Anse Major Trail

Der Anse Major Trail führt durch den Morne Seychellois National Park an der steinigen Nordwestküste mit seinen spektakulären Felsabfällen entlang und endet am kleinen abgelegenen Strand "Anse Major". Der Ausgangspunkt ist sowohl mit dem Auto als auch mit dem Bus sehr gut zu erreichen. Mit dem Bus gelangt man mit der Buslinie 21 von Victoria Richtung Bel Ombre dorthin und steigt an der Haltestelle "Danzil" aus. Ab da folgen Sie der Straße ca. 200 m den Berg hinauf. Wenn Sie mit dem Auto fahren, können Sie es auch hier gut parken. An der Gabelung gehen Sie rechts, Richtung der kleinen Siedlung "Danzil" und folgen den gelben Markierungen. Der etwa 2.5 km lange Rundweg verläuft ohne große Steigungen.

Schwierigkeit: einfach Dauer: 2 Std.
Lage: Danzil, Bel Ombre, Mahé (-4.618753, 55.397537)

Vacoa Nature Trail, Mahé

Vacoa Nature Trail

Dieser kurze Wanderweg dauert nur etwa 30 Minuten und führt über den Fluss Dauban, vorbei an einem Netzwerk an im Sumpf gelegenen Mangrovenbäumen, hin zum Naturwald, welcher etwas mehr im Landesinneren liegt. Im Wald befindet sich die Pandanuss, ein Baum, der auch als Vacoa bezeichnet wird und nach dem der Wanderweg benannt ist.

Schwierigkeit: einfach Dauer: 0.5 Std.

Dans Gallas, Mahé

Dans Gallas

Wenn Sie einen unglaublichen Rundblick über die malerische Beau Vallon Bucht genießen wollen, dann ist dieser Wanderweg genau das Richtige. Der Name "Gallas" kommt von einer Gruppe Äthopier, die im 19. Jahrhundert hier gewohnt haben, nachdem sie von der britischen Marine aus den Händen der Araber befreit wurden. Auf dem Weg wird es stellenweise etwas steil und steinig, aber es gibt Holzstufen und Leitern, um diese zu überbrücken. Mit dem Bus Nr. 32 gelangen Sie zur Haltestelle "Le Noil", dort finden Sie ein Informationszentrum des Nationalparkes.

Schwierigkeit: fortgeschritten Dauer: 3 Std.
Lage: Grand Anse, Mahé (-4.68061, 55.455921)

Glacis La Réserve, Mahé

Glacis La Réserve

Der Wanderweg „Glacis La Reserve“ führt durch dichten Wald und über eindrucksvolle Granitböden. Nach einer Weile führen Pfeile auf dem Granit zu einer Aussichtsplattform, von der man einen schönen Ausblick auf Mahés Ostküste hat. Der Startpunkt liegt an der Montagne Posee Road, welche die Strände Anse aux Pins im Osten und Anse Boileau im Westen miteinander verbindet. Biegt man von der Ostseite in die Straße ein so folgt nach wenigen Kilometern die Zufahrt zur einer "Cable & Wireless"-Station, wo sich das Schild für den Wanderweg befindet.

Schwierigkeit: mittel Dauer: 2 Std.
Lage: Montagne Posée Road, Mahé (-4.707262, 55.506645)

Salazie, Mahé

Salazie

Dieser Abenteuerpfad führt zunächst entlang beeindruckender Mahagoniwälder und Teeplantagen, die Besucher mit herrlichen Gerüchen von Holz und Schwarzem Tee begrüßen. Im späteren Verlauf geht es vorbei an einem verlassenen Betonwassertank bis in den dichten Wald, in dem es dunkel wird und die Vegetation sich dichtet. Hier haben Besucher die Möglichkeit das wahre Urwaldfeeling mitzubekommen und die spektakulären Bäume und Gewächse der Seychellen zu entdecken. Am Ende der Wanderung führt der Weg in eine private Siedlung.

Schwierigkeit: fortgeschritten Dauer: 3 Std.
Wird geladen...
Julia

Wir beraten Sie gerne

Mo-Do: 10-18 Uhr · Fr: 10-16 Uhr

  • * = Pflichtfeld, bitte ausfüllen
Öffnen
Aktuelle Informationen zum Coronavirus